KC HiLites Wiring! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-30-2012, 11:19 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 79
KC HiLites Wiring!

I know there are a thousand threads about the wiring and I honestly know little to nothing about this business, so reading all the technical stuff has gotten me no where.
Here's my specific situation: I drive a 2010 JK, I had my lights wired PERFECTLY exactly as instructed and everything worked great for months. When I originally installed them I figured I wouldn't need them that often and that I could just mount the switch super low on the driver's side (near the engine code reader thing). I had accidentally hit it three times and I was using it more often than I realized I would need it, so I decided I would simply relocate it higher. I pulled it apart, drilled a hole for the switch, then reinstalled everything and tested them, they worked like a charm, then I realized I forgot to put the small retaining screw on the back so the switch may dangle, so again I took the wires apart, this time I accidently yanked too hard on the brown (ground) wire and pulled it out of the part that connects to the switch. I just opened the connecter up a little bit, then jammed it back in there and cinched it down with a pair of pliers. I then stuck the wires back into the switch, the exact same way as before, but then, the white wire (power) came into contact with a metal part of the Jeep (it's really tight back there) and sparked a little. I knew that couldn't be good, but put it all back together and to no suprize the lights didn't come on. I checked the fuses, they both seem intact. Is it possible I blew a fuse if the white wire touches something metal on the Jeep and sparked like it did? Is it possible that the brown ground wire just isn't clamped good enough to get a good connection? What else could I have done wrong. I know they worked before. I know the wires are in the right terminals on the switch. I know the switch was good. Any way to test any of these things? Also, the LED on the switch doesn't even come on when all are connected. It seems like it should've been a fuse, but it doesn't look like they are blown. Any advice?

Zwetschgen1 is offline   Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:01 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
bfgrubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 79
I don't know how you are wired but:

Well you probably blew a fuse. Do you have a multimeter, or know someone with one? If not you can pick up a cheap one at walmart for about $10. or if you know what fuses they are and can get some spares swap them out.

It is possible that you ripped the ground wire out. Again with a multi meter you can measure the resistance between the wire on the switch and ground to see if you have a connection.

bfgrubi is offline   Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:50 AM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 79
Yeah, I know what fuses they are. I suppose that's a cheap way to start. I have checked the fuses and they don't appear to be blown, it's weird. I don't have a multimeter. I'll look into getting one. I assume there will be some instruction, because I don't know about testing resistance and that sort of thing.
Zwetschgen1 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2012, 10:03 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
unclesamsmisguidedchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,806
checking resistance is easy. Look for the ohm symbol like the one in the pic. Hook your leads up like they are supposed to be according to the manufacturers specs. Then touch the two leads together. It should read "0" meaning that there is no resistance. Now just put one lead on the end of the wire that you want to check resistance on and the other lead on the other end of the wire. It should read "0" if it reads "OL" then you have a break in that wire.

Have you tried different switches?

__________________
Why in hell can't the Army do it if the Marines can. They are the same kind of men; why can't they be like Marines.
Gen. John J. "Black Jack" Pershing, USA; 12 February 1918
unclesamsmisguidedchild is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC