Question about impedance... - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By Jerry Bransford
  • 1 Post By Chazter
  • 1 Post By Chazter
  • 1 Post By TerryC6
  • 1 Post By Chazter
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-29-2018, 03:15 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Chazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 474
Question about impedance...

I have a question for all of the smart people in the room relative to speakers and impedance.

First, Iíve swapped out my dash speakers with an Infinity Reference 6520cx component set. These run at nominal impedance of 3ohms according to the ownerís manual. They are driven by an Alpine PDX-F4 amp. Iím considering connecting, in parallel, a set of Infinity Kappa 6x9, 693.9i, three way speakers which run at a nominal impedance of 2 ohms. With that said, Infinity claims that due to the wiring in their speakers and the speaker wires themselves, their speakers have an effective impedance of 4 ohms, or slightly higher.

My question is this: Can the 6x9s be connected in parallel, at the amplifier, without the risk of over heating the amp? I understand impedance is cut in half when speakers are wired in parallel. I also understand that I will probably have to increase the gain on the front speakers at the amp, thereby increasing the power itís making. Per its ownerís manual, the amp is rated at an RMS @ 100 watts x 4 channels with either 4 or 2 ohm speakers connected. It drives the speakers really well as installed, and I have not had any issue with it over heating and shutting off to this point.

So again, with the build up of resistance in the wiring as Infinity claims, will it be safe for the amp to install these speakers in parallel?

Thanks in advance.

Chazter is offline   Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 07:46 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
jawest12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 768
Wire them up, stick a meter on them and check. The resistance isnít really cut in half, itís a formula. If the one set is actually 3 ohms. And the the other 2 ohms. Then the amp would see 1.2 ohms if wired in parallel. I would definitely watch heat. If one is 4 and the other 3. The amp would see 1.7. Which is still lower than the 2 ohms. Not many amps like going below 2.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jawest12 is offline   Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 10:30 PM   #3
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 48,212
You can't measure impedence with an Ohmmeter. Impedance varies depending on the frequency.

Nevertheless I wouldn't connect those speakers in parallel, that low of a resultingimpedance could make the amplifier unstable.
crazychile likes this.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2018, 10:36 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
jawest12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
You can't measure impedence with an Ohmmeter. Impedance varies depending on the frequency.

Nevertheless I wouldn't connect those speakers in parallel, that low of a resultingimpedance could make the amplifier unstable.


Notice I said resistance. Not impedance. And correct, youíd need a signal generator and something that actually measures impedance.

But for car audio purposes, an ohm meter or multimeter and measuring the resistance of the voice coil is sufficient in this case.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jawest12 is offline   Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 04:39 AM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
Chazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 474
Thanks for the replies fellas. Yea I’ve read that most, if not all amps, don’t like impedance below 2. I asked due to the “effective impedance” that Infinity claims, hoping the amp would see a minimum of 2 ohms.

How about connecting them in series? That would increase the impedance and lower the volume. I’d still have to bump up the gain on the amp, but that would solve the impedance issue?
Chazter is offline   Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 06:42 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
jawest12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 768
Yes sir. That would give you 5, or 7 ohms depending on how true their information is.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jawest12 is offline   Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 04:10 PM
Thread Starter
  #7
Jeeper
 
Chazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by jawest12 View Post
Yes sir. That would give you 5, or 7 ohms depending on how true their information is.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks again for the input. Probably not going to try to do a series connection with the component set though. The 6x9s have built-in crossovers. To get full range on the 6x9s, I guess a wire would have to be run from the tweeter AND the woofer negative connections to the positive on the 6x9 and then back to the positives on the component set from the negative on the 6x9. Not too sure that would be a good thing to try. If I run wires just from the woofers, the crossover on the 6x9 would try to do its job and the sound would probably be muddied. This whole exercise would be a waste. So.... scrap this whole idea HA!

My reason for thinking about this was to get a little cleaner bass than the stock sub. It sounds like someone hitting a card board box now that Iíve upgraded the other speakers, and it sounds like shit... no depth. If you know what I mean. Those 6x9s put out a nice clean bass... nothing door rattling, but really good sound. They have been sitting collecting dust for a couple of years. Was just looking for a way to get better bass without spending more $$ and use something I already have.

But again thank you both for helping me explore this idea.
jawest12 likes this.
Chazter is offline   Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 06:45 PM   #8
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 48,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by jawest12 View Post
Notice I said resistance. Not impedance. And correct, you’d need a signal generator and something that actually measures impedance.

But for car audio purposes, an ohm meter or multimeter and measuring the resistance of the voice coil is sufficient in this case.
What I noticed was that you mixed resistance and impedance in the same paragraph implying they can be treated the same, they're not.

Using an Ohmmeter to measure a speaker's DC resistance is not measuring its impedance as your post implied, they're not the same. You cannot and should never use an Ohmmeter to get any indication whatsoever as to what impedance the amplifier is going to see. The resistance of a speaker coil as measured in Ohms using a DC voltage to measure it with will always be significantly lower than its impedance resulting from an AC (audio) signal. An Ohmmeter does not belong in the same sentence where talking about impedance is concerned. Ohms and impedance are not the same, they are only distant related cousins. Been working in (now retired from) the technical side of audio, electronics, RF, etc. (for a living) since the late 60's.

The correct way to determine what impedance an amplifier will see is to do the math using only the speaker manufacturer's stated impedance of the speaker, not an Ohmmeter which is the wrong tool for the job. No, using an ohmmeter to measure the DC resistance of the voice coil is never acceptable when calculating impedance loads for the amplifier.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is offline   Quote
Old 07-30-2018, 07:56 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
jawest12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
What I noticed was that you mixed resistance and impedance in the same paragraph implying they can be treated the same, they're not.

Using an Ohmmeter to measure a speaker's DC resistance is not measuring its impedance as your post implied, they're not the same. You cannot and should never use an Ohmmeter to get any indication whatsoever as to what impedance the amplifier is going to see. The resistance of a speaker coil as measured in Ohms using a DC voltage to measure it with will always be significantly lower than its impedance resulting from an AC (audio) signal. An Ohmmeter does not belong in the same sentence where talking about impedance is concerned. Ohms and impedance are not the same, they are only distant related cousins. Been working in (now retired from) the technical side of audio, electronics, RF, etc. (for a living) since the late 60's.

The correct way to determine what impedance an amplifier will see is to do the math using only the speaker manufacturer's stated impedance of the speaker, not an Ohmmeter which is the wrong tool for the job. No, using an ohmmeter to measure the DC resistance of the voice coil is never acceptable when calculating impedance loads for the amplifier.


I appreciate your experience and chiming in to help this fellow Jeeper. I am aware of the difference between resistance and impedance. I personally did not feel the need to get into the minutiae of DC vs AC circuits, reactance, etc. I believed that for the purposes he was trying to achieve, the basic steps I outlined were more than sufficient.

However, great information. And Iím sure it may help someone in the future that may wish to see it.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jawest12 is offline   Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 04:16 PM
Thread Starter
  #10
Jeeper
 
Chazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
You can't measure impedence with an Ohmmeter. Impedance varies depending on the frequency.

Nevertheless I wouldn't connect those speakers in parallel, that low of a resultingimpedance could make the amplifier unstable.
This one may do the trick. Pioneer says itís stable @125 Watts x 4 channels at 1 ohm. Sonic electronics has it for about 140 bux with free shipping. Might be worth the purchase, and itís not too pricey.... get great reviews too over a few years.
jawest12 likes this.
Chazter is offline   Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 04:26 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
jawest12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 768
Let us know how it sounds when done!

Iím planning an amp change soon myself.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jawest12 is offline   Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 05:01 PM
Thread Starter
  #12
Jeeper
 
Chazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by jawest12 View Post
Let us know how it sounds when done!

Iím planning an amp change soon myself.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Just bought it... will do!
Chazter is offline   Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 04:23 PM
Thread Starter
  #13
Jeeper
 
Chazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by jawest12 View Post
Let us know how it sounds when done!

I’m planning an amp change soon myself.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
First.... sorry for the length of this response.

So.... I got the amp on Friday. Didn’t have time to mess with it Saturday. Sunday morning I opened it up, and began to really read the owners manual. In which, there is direction to NOT hook up 2 ohm speakers in parallel to obtain less than 2 ohms impedance. So I’m like, shit, I should have read this owners manual more in depth prior to buying. Shame on me. So, just to get a feel for how those 6x9s would sounnd, I disconnected the roll bar speakers from the installed Alpine amp and ran new wire from that amp to the 6x9s; placing them in the floor behind the seats. I have a two door with the back seat removed, so the rear foot wells are a great place for them. I also removed the stock sub, disconnected the 4 plugs from it, and reinstalled it in its hole. OMG did those 6x9s REALLY wake that system up! Great bass, and fantastic sound from the whole system. When I’m driving around, even at 65 MPH, top down, it sounds like I’m in a sound bubble. It’s crisp, clear and unbelievable. It sounds better top-down than top up. Those 6x9s definitely need to be a permanent addition, but I took em back out for now.

Now, I’m not sure what to do with the new amp. It has not been installed or hooked up. It’s NIB. I do have a question.... The new amp has RCA outputs. I’m assuming those outputs are for chaining together more than one amp to feed more than one set of speakers? The Alpine (old one) does not have outputs, but does have RCA inputs. Could I use the Pioneer (new one) as the primary amp, fed from the head unit with the dash and sound bar speakers connected to it. Then install the old amp, feed it from the Pioneer via RCA cables, and hook the 6x9s to it? That would not be considered “parallel” would it? That way I would have dash and sound bar speakers along with the 6x9s... if I could figure a way to mount them securely and out of sight.

Or should I just mount the 6x9s somehow, return the Pioneer amp to Crutchfield’s, then remove the sound bar speakers and sell them? Those Kappas are only a few months old.

I learned that I should have bought 4 ohm speakers from all of this, but those Kappas sound freaking awesome when driven by the right gear. I spend a lot of time in my ride and cannot stand poor sound....
Chazter is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 03:52 AM   #14
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
TerryC6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hesperia, CA
Posts: 6,672
What you want to do here looks like it would work. The problem is how it is going to set your sound stage. The output of the amp looks to be tied to channel A which in most cases is the front. That means that 4 of your speakers would be tied to the front and 2 to the rear. IF you keep you fader neutral that would not be a big issue.

The other way would be to go with something like a DM-608 a full featured DSP which will allow for 8 channels out. This is the way I would go but it is more money.
crazychile likes this.
__________________
Terry

35" Baja MTZ P3's - Level 8 Tracker Pro 5 Wheels - Dynatrac ProGrip Brakes - MetalCloak 2.5" GC Suspension, 6Pak Edition - Griffin Attenuator - Artec Front Axle Armor - Nitro Axle Sleeves - JCR Vanguard Bumpers - Poison Spyder Brawler Rockers & Bombshell Diff Covers - RockHard 4x4 Skid's & Sport Cage - Genesis Dual Battery Kit with G Screen - SPOD - Zeon 10-S - VisionX headlights - Traildash 2 - Morris Mule Trailer
TerryC6 is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 08:41 AM   #15
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Iowa
Posts: 529
What Terry said. In general you have the right idea.


Different but related topic...

Be careful running any speaker without an enclosure. I know this was just an initial test but you can damage speakers if you turn up the volume or bass when your speakers are running open baffle or free air. They need an enclosure to sort of cushion and help control the excursion of the woofer. But as a quick check at low volume you'll be fine.
crazychile is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 04:02 PM
Thread Starter
  #16
Jeeper
 
Chazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryC6 View Post
What you want to do here looks like it would work. The problem is how it is going to set your sound stage. The output of the amp looks to be tied to channel A which in most cases is the front. That means that 4 of your speakers would be tied to the front and 2 to the rear. IF you keep you fader neutral that would not be a big issue.

The other way would be to go with something like a DM-608 a full featured DSP which will allow for 8 channels out. This is the way I would go but it is more money.
Hey Terry, thank you for the input. Yes I see what youíre saying. However, in order to fix that issue, couldnít I just wire the sound bar speakers into channel ďAĒ on the amp, and the fronts into channel ďBĒ?

I mean the amp doesnít care right? Nor do the speakers? As long as the speakers are properly connected to the amp?

As for the fader... itís normally at neutral depending on the song, and maybe a click to the front or back sometimes.
Chazter is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 04:10 PM
Thread Starter
  #17
Jeeper
 
Chazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazychile View Post
What Terry said. In general you have the right idea.


Different but related topic...

Be careful running any speaker without an enclosure. I know this was just an initial test but you can damage speakers if you turn up the volume or bass when your speakers are running open baffle or free air. They need an enclosure to sort of cushion and help control the excursion of the woofer. But as a quick check at low volume you'll be fine.
Hey crazychile, thank you as well. Thatís good to know. Iím assuming youíre referring to the 6x9s I tried out. Yea... they are in enclosures already, similar to the attached pic.

I just laid them in the foot wells, pointing up to get a good feel for how they would sound. If I decide to put them back in and permanently install them into the system at that location, Iíll build enclosures for them that are more secure and not so easily recognizable for what they are.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	9996FF07-30AB-4A1B-88D1-E25FC8C26E65.jpeg
Views:	11
Size:	33.0 KB
ID:	4085161  
crazychile likes this.
Chazter is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 04:26 PM   #18
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
TerryC6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hesperia, CA
Posts: 6,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chazter View Post
Hey Terry, thank you for the input. Yes I see what youíre saying. However, in order to fix that issue, couldnít I just wire the sound bar speakers into channel ďAĒ on the amp, and the fronts into channel ďBĒ?

I mean the amp doesnít care right? Nor do the speakers? As long as the speakers are properly connected to the amp?

As for the fader... itís normally at neutral depending on the song, and maybe a click to the front or back sometimes.
Yes as long as you know you have it reversed, fade to rear is actually fade to front. Also if your head unit as time delays make sure you reverse it there as well.
__________________
Terry

35" Baja MTZ P3's - Level 8 Tracker Pro 5 Wheels - Dynatrac ProGrip Brakes - MetalCloak 2.5" GC Suspension, 6Pak Edition - Griffin Attenuator - Artec Front Axle Armor - Nitro Axle Sleeves - JCR Vanguard Bumpers - Poison Spyder Brawler Rockers & Bombshell Diff Covers - RockHard 4x4 Skid's & Sport Cage - Genesis Dual Battery Kit with G Screen - SPOD - Zeon 10-S - VisionX headlights - Traildash 2 - Morris Mule Trailer
TerryC6 is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 05:46 PM
Thread Starter
  #19
Jeeper
 
Chazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryC6 View Post
Yes as long as you know you have it reversed, fade to rear is actually fade to front. Also if your head unit as time delays make sure you reverse it there as well.
Hmmm... not sure what a time delay is; nor if my H/U has it. Itís a Pioneer AVH-X5600BHS. Would the option to reverse it be in the system set up options?
Chazter is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 06:07 PM   #20
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
TerryC6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hesperia, CA
Posts: 6,672
I will look a little later to night have to finish the deck.
__________________
Terry

35" Baja MTZ P3's - Level 8 Tracker Pro 5 Wheels - Dynatrac ProGrip Brakes - MetalCloak 2.5" GC Suspension, 6Pak Edition - Griffin Attenuator - Artec Front Axle Armor - Nitro Axle Sleeves - JCR Vanguard Bumpers - Poison Spyder Brawler Rockers & Bombshell Diff Covers - RockHard 4x4 Skid's & Sport Cage - Genesis Dual Battery Kit with G Screen - SPOD - Zeon 10-S - VisionX headlights - Traildash 2 - Morris Mule Trailer
TerryC6 is offline   Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 03:30 AM   #21
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
TerryC6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hesperia, CA
Posts: 6,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chazter View Post
Hmmm... not sure what a time delay is; nor if my H/U has it. Itís a Pioneer AVH-X5600BHS. Would the option to reverse it be in the system set up options?
You have timing through the use of AutoEQ, I don't see where you can set it manually though. Refer to your manual for how to use AutoEQ.

Now you can wire it as you said, from the H/U to the Pioneer Amp, Front output to channel B and Rear Output to Channel A. From the Pioneer amp to speakers, Channel A goes to sound bar speakers, Channel B goes to front speakers.

From the Pioneer Amp, RCA out to Alpine amp, channel A. Because your 6x9's are 4 ohm I would bridge this amp. Don't forget to turn down the gain, you won't need all the power the amp can supply when bridged. Hopefully you are well versed on how to set gains using test tones and a multimeter.

You should run AutoEQ at this point, you might need the mic if you don't have it, cost about 20 bucks. That will set you timing, it will be interesting to see the results of that. Just remember on you fader that back is front and front is back, no way to change this.

This should work but I can say I have never tried something like this. If something like the DM-608 is too much money you could go with the AudioControls Matrix Plus. This would open up more options including the possibility of going active on your front speakers and keeping your fader control working correctly.

FYI: Based on the amps you have you really don't have the ability to go active.
__________________
Terry

35" Baja MTZ P3's - Level 8 Tracker Pro 5 Wheels - Dynatrac ProGrip Brakes - MetalCloak 2.5" GC Suspension, 6Pak Edition - Griffin Attenuator - Artec Front Axle Armor - Nitro Axle Sleeves - JCR Vanguard Bumpers - Poison Spyder Brawler Rockers & Bombshell Diff Covers - RockHard 4x4 Skid's & Sport Cage - Genesis Dual Battery Kit with G Screen - SPOD - Zeon 10-S - VisionX headlights - Traildash 2 - Morris Mule Trailer
TerryC6 is offline   Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 05:54 AM
Thread Starter
  #22
Jeeper
 
Chazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryC6 View Post
You have timing through the use of AutoEQ, I don't see where you can set it manually though. Refer to your manual for how to use AutoEQ.

Now you can wire it as you said, from the H/U to the Pioneer Amp, Front output to channel B and Rear Output to Channel A. From the Pioneer amp to speakers, Channel A goes to sound bar speakers, Channel B goes to front speakers.

From the Pioneer Amp, RCA out to Alpine amp, channel A. Because your 6x9's are 4 ohm I would bridge this amp. Don't forget to turn down the gain, you won't need all the power the amp can supply when bridged. Hopefully you are well versed on how to set gains using test tones and a multimeter.

You should run AutoEQ at this point, you might need the mic if you don't have it, cost about 20 bucks. That will set you timing, it will be interesting to see the results of that. Just remember on you fader that back is front and front is back, no way to change this.

This should work but I can say I have never tried something like this. If something like the DM-608 is too much money you could go with the AudioControls Matrix Plus. This would open up more options including the possibility of going active on your front speakers and keeping your fader control working correctly.

FYI: Based on the amps you have you really don't have the ability to go active.
Hey Terry,

Thank you for this. I actually do have the mic that came with the head unit, but I didnít plug it in when I did the installation. I never used it in the other vehicle in which it was installed, so I left it out of the install in the Jeep.

At this point Iím not sure what Iím going to do. I think though, Iím going to figure out a way to permanently install the 6x9s. They sounded great when coupled with the component set in the dash. Not sure what Iíll do with the sound bar speakers. I may remove and sell them. And, Iím still not sure whether Iíll keep and install the new amp or return it. First world problems....

But, again, I do thank you and the others. I appreciate the fact you were willing to spend your time to research this info in order to help me explore this idea.

Hope ya have a great weekend!

Chazter is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC