Runnng new soeaker wires to soundbar on 2015 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-28-2016, 10:47 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 123
Runnng new soeaker wires to soundbar on 2015

Finally decided to run an amp to my kenwood head unit. Probably put 20 hours of meticulously running wires, split loom, taping, and zip tying wires better than the factory. I was never a big fan of the factory sound systems even the premium. The head units also seem very dated even the 730. So aftermarket will always win out for me.

Ran 14 gauge for all speaker and 12 for the sub. How is everybody going into the soundbar with the new wires? There is the little twist lock connector on the top. Was thinking to drill a hole or use a rubber plug and go through the existing.

hydronaut is offline   Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 04:43 PM   #2
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
TerryC6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hesperia, CA
Posts: 6,880
Just splice the wires prior to the connector. I assume you are running 4 ohm speakers and 14 gauge is a little over kill in a vehicle as small as a jeep.

__________________
Terry

35" Baja MTZ P3's - Level 8 Tracker Pro 5 Wheels - Dynatrac ProGrip Brakes - MetalCloak 2.5" GC Suspension, 6Pak Edition - Griffin Attenuator - Artec Front Axle Armor - Nitro Axle Sleeves - JCR Vanguard Bumpers - Poison Spyder Brawler Rockers & Bombshell Diff Covers - RockHard 4x4 Skid's & Sport Cage - Genesis Dual Battery Kit with G Screen - SPOD - Zeon 10-S - VisionX headlights - Traildash 2 - Morris Mule Trailer
TerryC6 is offline   Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 05:04 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryC6 View Post
Just splice the wires prior to the connector. I assume you are running 4 ohm speakers and 14 gauge is a little over kill in a vehicle as small as a jeep.
14 was the same price as 16 so figured why not since I am only doing this once. Plus I still consider the factory wiring too too thin for long runs with a good high power amp.

Was thinking of drilling a hole and putting a rubber grommet in it. But might just splice before the connector.
hydronaut is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.