Worst customer service in the industry - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > Vendors > ExtremeTerrain.com

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree9Likes
  • 1 Post By tahoechase
  • 1 Post By Bonker
  • 2 Post By XTJake
  • 2 Post By demarpaint
  • 1 Post By chingon_ed
  • 1 Post By LuvmyXJ
  • 1 Post By demarpaint
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-07-2017, 05:56 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Lake Tahoe, CA
Posts: 788
Worst customer service in the industry

What a terrible company to do business with. I put in an order on 6/1 at 10 AM, after getting my conformation e mail, i realized it was the wrong part. i got on with their online chat tech support, and informed the guy that I had purchased the wrong part, and needed to cancel my order. After being assured that my order hadn't been shipped and would be canceled, A package shows up at my door today. After contacting their customer service (Xavier) I was told that the only thing they could do for me is to sell me a return shipping label, for an item that shouldn't have been shipped in the first place! Then he tells me that "they run into this problem from time to time." Avoid the headache and do business with a company that cares about their customers!
@XTJake

__________________
My 98 TJ Build

Lockers before Light Bars
tahoechase is offline   Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 06:02 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Bonker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 333
Did you save the chat so you have their assurance in writing?

__________________
Artist, Scientist, Athlete, Friend
Bonker is offline   Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 06:03 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Lake Tahoe, CA
Posts: 788
Apparently i should have, Usually dealing with a reputable company, that isn't something that even crosses your mind. I guess Extreme Terrain is a less than reputable company.
__________________
My 98 TJ Build

Lockers before Light Bars
tahoechase is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-07-2017, 06:20 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Bonker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoechase View Post
Apparently i should have, Usually dealing with a reputable company, that isn't something that even crosses your mind. I guess Extreme Terrain is a less than reputable company.
I don't disagree that you had a bad interaction but it's hardly an entire company at fault when a single rep is inept. You could always contact them via phone and speak to a manager.

FWIW, many of us have jobs where certain co-workers give a very bad impression of the company. I wouldn't red-flag a company without systematic bad service over the course of working towards a resolution for your issue.

YMMV
__________________
Artist, Scientist, Athlete, Friend
Bonker is offline   Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 06:25 PM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Lake Tahoe, CA
Posts: 788
While i agree, Scrolling through the Forum, They seem to have a good amount of complaints towards their customer service department.I hope this can be addressed when I call in, losing a customer over $10 shipping speaks volumes about a company.
Hopefully
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonker View Post
I don't disagree that you had a bad interaction but it's hardly an entire company at fault when a single rep is inept. You could always contact them via phone and speak to a manager.

FWIW, many of us have jobs where certain co-workers give a very bad impression of the company. I wouldn't red-flag a company without systematic bad service over the course of working towards a resolution for your issue.

YMMV
Bonker likes this.
__________________
My 98 TJ Build

Lockers before Light Bars
tahoechase is offline   Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 06:29 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Bonker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoechase View Post
While i agree, Scrolling through the Forum, They seem to have a good amount of complaints towards their customer service department.I hope this can be addressed when I call in, losing a customer over $10 shipping speaks volumes about a company.
Hopefully
Yeah, good luck! Keep calm and professional and you will get your way.
tahoechase likes this.
__________________
Artist, Scientist, Athlete, Friend
Bonker is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 01:09 PM   #7
ExtremeTerrain.com Sponsoring Vendor
 
XTJake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Malvern, PA
Posts: 6,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoechase View Post
What a terrible company to do business with. I put in an order on 6/1 at 10 AM, after getting my conformation e mail, i realized it was the wrong part. i got on with their online chat tech support, and informed the guy that I had purchased the wrong part, and needed to cancel my order. After being assured that my order hadn't been shipped and would be canceled, A package shows up at my door today. After contacting their customer service (Xavier) I was told that the only thing they could do for me is to sell me a return shipping label, for an item that shouldn't have been shipped in the first place! Then he tells me that "they run into this problem from time to time." Avoid the headache and do business with a company that cares about their customers!
@XTJake

Sorry to hear you had some trouble with your order, and more specifically with our customer service department! I would hate for the experience you had with one of our reps to be the base judgement for our company as a whole though.

I don't believe you should have had to pay for a return label especially since you tried to cancel the item due to it being the wrong part.

If you let me know your order # I'd be happy to make sure everything is taken care of and that the return shipping is comped. Also I'd be happy to give you a great deal on the item you initially meant to order.

Looking forward to hearing back and again I apologize for the inconvenience!

-Jake
Bonker and aggrex like this.
__________________
Jake R. | ExtremeTerrain.com Off-Road Outfitters
Toll Free: 800-988-4605 | Mon-Fri 10AM-6PM EST
Free Shipping on Orders Over $75!
PM me for our WranglerForum Discount Code (must have 25 posts)[COLOR=Red] or Price-Matching!
👉Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel👈
XTJake is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 07:34 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
LuvmyXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Shippensburg, PA
Posts: 1,076
Jake,

You need to get on this type of stuff. I was just charged the full amount for wheels and tires that were ordered over two weeks ago and CS still says they have no idea where the wheels and tires are.

This is BS. Forum sponsor or not, ET is getting no more of my money and at this point, I'm willing to file fraud charges.
LuvmyXJ is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 07:44 PM   #9
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
ourjeeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Arizona
Posts: 331
Arrow Process problem... solid fix needed

Hopefully XT can fix its ordering/shipping/cancellation process issues before more customers have negative experiences.

The cause may be a less-than-responsive e-commerce/IT system, business processes, or staff issues - but in the end, and the real world, it's all about the positive customer experience, and fostering a long term relationship.

Good luck to both the OP and XT management's attempts to fix the issues!
__________________
'17 JKUR Recon 3.6L auto MOPAR lift 35's ongoing build
'74 CJ5 AMC 304 V8 T18A lifted locked 33's cage 3-pt
'02 TJ Sahara 4L auto TF lift locked cage 33's [sold]
'86 CJ7 AMC 258 I6 T5 33's max stainless [sold]
KG6RPX Living the life in S/E AZ high country
MILVETS Army & Navy - GOD Bless America!
ourjeeps is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 07:48 PM   #10
Moderator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonker View Post
Did you save the chat so you have their assurance in writing?
Whenever there's a question or a problem and I open a chat window, I save it. You'll be surprised how helpful that can be at a later date, if a problem or a question arises regarding something I was told.
Bonker and LuvmyXJ like this.
demarpaint is online now   Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 07:58 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
LuvmyXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Shippensburg, PA
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by ourjeeps View Post
Hopefully XT can fix its ordering/shipping/cancellation process issues before more customers have negative experiences.

The cause may be a less-than-responsive e-commerce/IT system, business processes, or staff issues - but in the end, and the real world, it's all about the positive customer experience, and fostering a long term relationship.

Good luck to both the the OP and XT management's attempts to fix the issues!
At this point, I'll be happy to just get my money back. I am two hours away. I was charged the full amount today and the Customer Service rep says that the system clearly shows they do not have my tires or wheels. But, she can't do anything to help me. When I said that I was willing to file fraud charges with my credit card company, she asked me not to do that because if I do, my card "gets blocked and then we can't help you". I take that as "don't file charges on us, we want to continue to do this to other people."

I am so done with this whole thing. And to think that I thought 4WD was worthless. I keep getting the excuse "this isn't the normal way we do things" but how do I know that? I've been getting the runaround since Day 1. I told CS tonight that I either want wheels and tires in my driveway tomorrow night or the order gets cancelled and charges get filed with my CC company. They charged me today, they can have them here tomorrow.
LuvmyXJ is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 10:19 PM   #12
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
ourjeeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Arizona
Posts: 331
Angry One Strike Baseball Approach

Sorry you're going through this.

Any more, we've adopted the "One Strike Baseball" Approach in our household - a business gets one chance to make it right - if not - they've lost our business FOREVER.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LuvmyXJ View Post
At this point, I'll be happy to just get my money back... I am so done with this whole thing
__________________
'17 JKUR Recon 3.6L auto MOPAR lift 35's ongoing build
'74 CJ5 AMC 304 V8 T18A lifted locked 33's cage 3-pt
'02 TJ Sahara 4L auto TF lift locked cage 33's [sold]
'86 CJ7 AMC 258 I6 T5 33's max stainless [sold]
KG6RPX Living the life in S/E AZ high country
MILVETS Army & Navy - GOD Bless America!
ourjeeps is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 10:32 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
LuvmyXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Shippensburg, PA
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by ourjeeps View Post
Sorry you're going through this.

Any more, we've adopted the "One Strike Baseball" Approach in our household - a business gets one chance to make it right - if not - they've lost our business FOREVER.
I'm there now, unfortunately. I have another price quote from Jake for several more items, but at this point, even if they​ come through tomorrow, I'm not willing to take another chance.

Dealing with Qtec has always a been great experience. I was hoping for The same from ET.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
LuvmyXJ is offline   Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 10:43 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: ABQ
Posts: 122
I wonder how long this thread stays up. I made a similar thread about northridge and am overly defensive moderator deleted the thread.

Actually, my thread was much less emotional and more matter of fact. I hope moderators let these threads hang around more. Transparency is a good thing for the community.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
LuvmyXJ likes this.
chingon_ed is offline   Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 03:12 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
LuvmyXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Shippensburg, PA
Posts: 1,076
Hopefully, the end is in sight for my mess.

I was supposed to get a call from a "supervisor" today who was going to go over everything with me. Instead, I received an email notice that my money is going to be refunded to my card. Money that they charged me while in the middle of an active dispute.

I won't be spending any more money with ET.
Bonker likes this.
LuvmyXJ is offline   Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 08:36 PM   #16
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
ourjeeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Arizona
Posts: 331
Thumbs up Nothing offensive here

I don't believe anything offensive or harmful is posted here. I offered some tangible reasons there is a problem and wished XT the best in resolving this. Also wished the OP the best.

All is positive. We all want the Forum Sponsors to be successful and supportive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chingon_ed View Post
I wonder how long this thread stays up. I made a similar thread about northridge and am overly defensive moderator deleted the thread.

Actually, my thread was much less emotional and more matter of fact. I hope moderators let these threads hang around more. Transparency is a good thing for the community.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
'17 JKUR Recon 3.6L auto MOPAR lift 35's ongoing build
'74 CJ5 AMC 304 V8 T18A lifted locked 33's cage 3-pt
'02 TJ Sahara 4L auto TF lift locked cage 33's [sold]
'86 CJ7 AMC 258 I6 T5 33's max stainless [sold]
KG6RPX Living the life in S/E AZ high country
MILVETS Army & Navy - GOD Bless America!
ourjeeps is offline   Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 08:49 PM   #17
Moderator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuvmyXJ View Post
At this point, I'll be happy to just get my money back. I am two hours away. I was charged the full amount today and the Customer Service rep says that the system clearly shows they do not have my tires or wheels. But, she can't do anything to help me. When I said that I was willing to file fraud charges with my credit card company, she asked me not to do that because if I do, my card "gets blocked and then we can't help you". I take that as "don't file charges on us, we want to continue to do this to other people."

I am so done with this whole thing. And to think that I thought 4WD was worthless. I keep getting the excuse "this isn't the normal way we do things" but how do I know that? I've been getting the runaround since Day 1. I told CS tonight that I either want wheels and tires in my driveway tomorrow night or the order gets cancelled and charges get filed with my CC company. They charged me today, they can have them here tomorrow.
So if I understand this correctly, you're charged in full, have no merchandise and the seller has no idea where the goods are, and they can't help you? If that is the case then I'd call the credit card company, state my case, and dispute the charges. If you don't have the merchandise and they block your card, and can't help you does it matter? I don't think so. The credit card company will refund your money, and the company's problem of where the merchandise is, is now 100% their problem, and 0% your problem. Those numbers work for me.
LuvmyXJ likes this.
demarpaint is online now   Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 08:57 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
LuvmyXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Shippensburg, PA
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by demarpaint View Post
So if I understand this correctly, you're charged in full, have no merchandise and the seller has no idea where the goods are, and they can't help you? If that is the case then I'd call the credit card company, state my case, and dispute the charges. If you don't have the merchandise and they block your card, and can't help you does it matter? I don't think so. The credit card company will refund your money, and the company's problem of where the merchandise is, is now 100% their problem, and 0% your problem. Those numbers work for me.
That's it in a nutshell. They initiated the refund to my card today and I've cancelled the order. Now I'm two weeks behind in finishing my Jeep and I'm back to getting offers on the wheels and tires and hoping no one else pulls the same crap.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
LuvmyXJ is offline   Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 04:45 AM   #19
Moderator

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuvmyXJ View Post
That's it in a nutshell. They initiated the refund to my card today and I've cancelled the order. Now I'm two weeks behind in finishing my Jeep and I'm back to getting offers on the wheels and tires and hoping no one else pulls the same crap.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
Well at least they initiated the refund. It sucks to have fallen behind like that. Good luck moving forward, and thanks for the heads up. It's always good to know of problems with vendors, and those with 5 star ratings. It can save someone else a headache.

demarpaint is online now   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC