Quadratec Disappointment - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > Vendors > Quadratec Inc.

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree26Likes
  • 1 Post By WaltA
  • 2 Post By RubiconSS
  • 14 Post By Quadratec
  • 1 Post By jeffashford
  • 1 Post By Old Dogger
  • 1 Post By Quadratec
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-28-2017, 08:50 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 124
Quadratec Disappointment

I placed an order with Quadratec for new bumpers, a winch and a set of tube doors & mirrors for my 2017 JK. Since I had some time off over the holidays I was hoping to get the bumpers and winch installed and ready before returning to work on January 2nd.

The stuff all arrived yesterday and I got hosed on the front bumper. I was shipped an open box item missing most of the parts. The box was wrapped in black plastic film with Quadratec's packing list and paperwork attached to the outside so this is the way Quadratec shipped the box (no blame on manufacturer or shipping company). After removing the black plastic film the box was taped up and the metal staples were pulled - this box had been opened and resealed by Quadratec at some point.

The bumper is perfect - no blems or damage. But all the other parts were missing except the bag of fasteners. Fairlead plates, fog lamp bezels, light mount parts, canister relocation bracket, fog lamp brackets, support brackets, a harness extension - 14 missing parts from the enclosed parts list.

Called Quadratec customer service when they opened this morning and explained the situation. Apparently Quadratec doesn't have any more of this particular front bumper in stock so I was put on hold while he called the manufacturer. Turns out the manufacturer is closed for the holidays and won't be open again until January 2. I was told to call Quadratec back on January 2 and start the process over again. I didn't even get an apology from the customer service rep. It's not the manufacturer's fault and I don't blame them for being closed for the holidays but the Quadratec customer service rep had a totally indifferent attitude, like he was doing me a favor by helping me? I swear he was waiting for me to say Thank You at the end of our conversation while I was waiting for some kind of simple apology.

So Quadratec shipped me an open box item missing 14 of the 16 parts and now I'm stuck with the time to install the bumper but no bumper to install. Very frustrating. The indifferent attitude by the Quadratec rep just added insult to injury. I expected better.

Rant over.

Waveform is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 09:04 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 313
Negative reviews are justified, but so are positive ones. I agree, mistakes happen, but it is how a company deals with the mistakes that set it apart. In this case, Quad has been great for my issues over the year.

I have ordered most if not all of my Jeep parts with Quadratec, and worked with Rick from Quad that supports and frequents this site, and he really cares about us Jeepers. Maybe you can PM him to see what he can do?

__________________
'17 JKU, Rancho lift, 33" KO2's, winch, sliders, armor, more stuff...
'14 WK2, AWD
'97 ZJ, OME lift, 31" KO2's, exhaust, more stuff...

Past: 79 CJ V8: Resto, 98 XJ: Lifted & Locked, 04 KJ: Lifted and 31's, 12 JKU: lift, armor, more stuff...
MrClortho is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 09:06 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
WNCDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: West Jefferson, NC
Posts: 291
Ouch....maybe our resident QT guy on the forum Rick can assist you. That does sound very frustrating. I have always had really good luck with QT but this situation certainly sounds bungled up.
__________________
2017 Rubicon JKU in Gobi / 2" Mopar Lift / Falken Wildpeak AT3W 285/70/17 / Pro Comp Series 69 Wheels / Quadratec QRC Side Armor Rock Rails / Real Wheels 2.5" Light Bar / KC 5" Apollo HiLites / VDP Stubby Caps

Previous Jeeps - 2012 JK Sport - 1978 CJ5
WNCDave is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2017, 09:06 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Tejas
Posts: 445
Quadratec totally dropped the ball on a light order I placed 3 or 4 weeks ago, and when I reached out to them to find out the status, the customer service rep was totally worthless and much as you described even though it wasn't my first order from them. Was apparently a different rep though as the one I dealt with was a woman. My confidence in the company is now gone.

I don't know what it is with Jeep e-tailers as the ones I've tried to do business with have not been that great (SpiderShade and GraBar are the exceptions). I've never had the type of experiences with other car part e-tailers that I've had with Jeep vendors. The Jeep vendors have been nothing short of disappointing.
Jimlanter is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 09:32 AM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 124
I've worked in and around retail and an open box item is a red flag. Before you ship an open box item you have to check the contents, especially if you're paying for shipping a heavy item across the country.

Mistakes happen, companies close for the holidays - I get all that. And I expect I will eventually get either my missing parts or a new bumper drop shipped from the manufacturer. It's a hassle and a disappointment but not the end of the world.

But it was the indifference on the part of the Quadratec customer service rep that really bugs me. Just a simple statement like "Hey I'm really sorry this happened but don't worry we'll get it all sorted out for you" would have gone a long way. I'm really no further along at getting this resolved than before I called Quadratec customer service. The onus is back on me to call Quadratec again on January 2nd and start the process all over again.
Waveform is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 10:20 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Cummins_Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,682
@Quadratec

Rick should definitely be able to help you.
Cummins_Powered is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 10:27 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
WaltA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: 3rd Planet, Sol system
Posts: 9,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waveform View Post
The box was wrapped in black plastic film with Quadratec's packing list and paperwork attached to the outside so this is the way Quadratec shipped the box (no blame on manufacturer or shipping company).
It is not unusual that drop shipments have paperwork with the vendor's name on it, even though it was actually shipped from the manufacturer.

I would be interested to hear (read?) Rick's side.
RubiconSS likes this.
__________________
Current Jeep:
2014 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon X
Previous Jeeps:
1999 Cherokee Limited (w/ Up Country)
1987 Wrangler Laredo
[All custom ordered]
WaltA is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 10:47 AM   #8
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
RubiconSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 16,359
Nobody can dispute - the Holidays are a tough time for mail, ordering, receiving stuff, returning stuff, paying for stuff....
Holidays are great except they Suck.

Disappointment abounds

Tough to keep a healthy positive attitude. As mentioned, I think there is/will be more to this story - I frankly doubt Quadratec just up and decided to shit the bed all of a sudden.

They are a consistent positive vendor on WF and Rick is a big supporter of all things "Us".
Sorry to the OP for the situation, I think we all can identify with Too much time and not enough parts.
Usually it's the other way around.
SRM and Jjgibby523 like this.
__________________
"Sticking Feathers up Your Butt does Not make You a Chicken"
RubiconSS is online now   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 10:54 AM   #9
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Quadratec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 2,456
Hey there,

I am very sorry to hear this and how you were treated while you were on the phone. This is not how we treat our customers. I do sincerely apologize for the trouble this has caused in regards to the missing items from the box. Even more so we apologize for how your discussion was handled over the phone. I see that you spoke with a customer service representative in an email thread. A supervisor will be contacting you via phone shortly. Thank you again for your patience and again, I do apologize for the trouble this has caused.

Have a great day.
Hailey
SRM, RubiconSS, ibikee and 11 others like this.
__________________

We Price Match, PM us for a quote
Forum Member Discounts

Active Hours: 9am-5pm EST Monday - Friday
Wrangler PartsWrangler WheelsWrangler TiresWrangler Lift KitsWrangler BumpersWrangler Soft Tops
Quadratec is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 11:04 AM
Thread Starter
  #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaltA View Post
It is not unusual that drop shipments have paperwork with the vendor's name on it, even though it was actually shipped from the manufacturer.

I would be interested to hear (read?) Rick's side.
This was shipped from Quadratec - was told on the front end their warehouse had stock and all items shipped at the same time from the same point of origin. The bumper shipped from PA. The manufacturer is in OR. Everything arrived on the same day.
Waveform is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 11:08 AM   #11
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
RubiconSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 16,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waveform View Post
This was shipped from Quadratec - was told on the front end their warehouse had stock and all items shipped at the same time from the same point of origin. The bumper shipped from PA. The manufacturer is in OR. Everything arrived on the same day.
Post #9 is probably the most compelling development....
__________________
"Sticking Feathers up Your Butt does Not make You a Chicken"
RubiconSS is online now   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 11:16 AM
Thread Starter
  #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 124
Just a run of bad luck on this order with five items.

Front bumper - missing 14 of 16 parts as discussed.
Rugged Ridge tube doors - missing 8 of 10 parts (all hardware except the doors themselves)
Rugged Ridge mirrors - missing fasteners for one of the two mirrors.
Rear bumper - inventoried and all complete.
Warn winch - inventoried and all complete.

So I'm 2 out of 5 for getting all the parts and pieces.

The tube doors were also an open box item. The box had been opened and then taped back up. The mirrors looked like they've never been opened so I'll mark this up to Rugged Ridge.

I called Quadratec CS again and spoke to a different rep about the shortages in the tube doors and mirrors. Very nice and helpful and he apologized for the inconvenience, etc. I did have to take photos of what I got and email them to the Quadratec CS rep - apparently Rugged Ridge requires photo documentation in order to ship out missing parts.

The CS rep offered to ship me a replacement set of mirrors (but not doors) and said I could ship the ones I got back or take the parts I needed out of the box and send that set back. Hmmmm.....now I suspect how open box items missing parts end up back in the inventory. The mirrors are for the tube doors so without the door hardware the mirrors are of no use. I'll wait for Rugged Ridge to replace all the missing parts from both items.

We'll see how long this takes.
Waveform is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 11:34 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
basicxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: north of the 49th
Posts: 1,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrClortho View Post
Negative reviews are justified, but so are positive ones. I agree, mistakes happen, but it is how a company deals with the mistakes that set it apart. In this case, Quad has been great for my issues over the year.

I have ordered most if not all of my Jeep parts with Quadratec, and worked with Rick from Quad that supports and frequents this site, and he really cares about us Jeepers. Maybe you can PM him to see what he can do?
Highlighted for importance- hope this gets made right for the OP.

Almost anyone involved in customer service can and will drop the ball sometimes...sh*tty, but it can happen. Some companies are better at the customer satisfaction end of doing business than others, and I suspect that while the experience has been frustrating, they'll do right by OP (and quickly compared to some other businesses).
__________________
2016 JKU Sahara in Tank ---> now 2016 JKUHR in Granite Crystal
basicxj is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 12:50 PM   #14
Grooving With A Pict

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
RhinoSportJKU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,183
I hope some of the members here are more empathetic and more helpful to fellow members if they ever find one of them in need. The OP clearly didn't come here just to air his dirty laundry. Why are some of you so quick to flame him, and dismiss his situation? It sounds like QT is going to make amends, but that's no reason to throw the OP under the bus just for sharing his experience. Sheesh people, ever heard of Karma?
RhinoSportJKU is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 07:09 PM   #15
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Moab4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 463
I hate that this happened to you. If you are like most of us, you have very limited time to work on mods. The holidays present a good opportunity to get some things done. The fact that there wasn't the level of concern on the customer service reps part makes it harder to take. Hopefully they make it all right for you. I may just be lucky, but everybody I've dealt with for Jeep parts has been stellar. Quadratech, 4Wheel Parts, Maximus-3, MetalCloak, they've all been great.
__________________
Use things,
Not people.
Love people,
Not things.


Moab4me - Killer of threads....
Moab4me is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 07:37 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
TnTsJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Illinois
Posts: 29
Sorry for the mishap with QT but give them another try, I am sure they will straighten things out. I have ordered all my mods thru Rob W, one of Rick’s guys at Quadratec, and the service has always been exceptional. Working with Rob is like having my own personal rep, I send him an e-mail with what I need, and he takes care of me. I have never had a problem and ordering could not be easier. TM
__________________
2016 JKU Rubicon: BFG 285 A/T Ko2's; Rock Hard 4x4 tubular Rock Sliders; Rock Hard 4x4 Aluminum front and rear bumpers; Quadratec Hard Rock wheels, LED head lights, fog lights and Diver Down seat covers; Teraflex HD Hinged tire carrier; X2O winch
TnTsJK is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 08:45 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
jeffashford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Evergreen Colorado with a 9,000ft view
Posts: 655
If this had not been a holiday week, things might of been different, I would bet Rich would of expressed shipped another full order. The customer service rep should of pushed up the chain a little, that is a training issue. We should never treat others poorly or expect to be and that includes those on the forum.
Jjgibby523 likes this.
__________________
Fire Chief / Retired
jeffashford is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 09:04 PM   #18
Halloween Werewolf

5-Year WF Supporting Member
WF Lifetime Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: AZ. In the Ponderosa Pine Country, where the Bears are hungry..
Posts: 25,467
I deleted some of the Posts that had sarcasm and borderline flaming in them.

This Thread to start with should have been in the Vendor's Forum and not in our JK General Forum.

This Thread is being moved to the Vendor's Forum.
dodgeman762 likes this.
__________________
1974 CJ5, 2003 TJ, 2013 2 door Black Rubicon, auto, with 4.10 ratio.
Shaking at 40-70 MPH, Read this!!!

The Mighty Grizzly is not concerned,
with
the needs of the Hunter....


Click here and become a WF supporting Member
Old Dogger is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 09:13 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
wrath0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Boston area, MA USA
Posts: 1,300
I just want to praise the OP for inventorying parts prior to starting an install. A lot of us just assume we've got everything and dive right in. So good on you for taking inventory.
wrath0r is offline   Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 02:20 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 766
OP, I also had a bad experience that I'm still dealing with. Ordered an item on a Sunday and realized I had ordered the wrong part so I immediately sent an email to Quadratec asking them to cancel the order. I also called as soon as they opened for business on Monday.

The rep I spoke with had an indifferent attitude much like you described. He told me that he would "attempt" to cancel the order since it was already forwarded to the warehouse. I asked what the window normally was to successfully cancel an order since I called as soon as they opened their phones and he replied that "before it gets to the warehouse". I then asked if he thought there would be an issue getting this order cancelled and he replied "I already told you that I sent a request to cancel the order".

The next day I got notification that a UPS shipping label had been created. I emailed customer service and they replied that they saw were I had already spoken with XXXXX and that "it looks like he took care of it". They also stated that a label being created doesn't mean the item would ship.

Several days go by and guess what shows up at my door? I emailed customer service again and they said that I should be getting an email from UPS "in a couple of days" that will contain a return shipping label, and when I get it I should then take the package to a UPS drop off and they'll issue a refund when they get the item back.

That is simply a ridiculous process for me to go thru and an unnecessary expense to them when attempting to cancel an order immediately after it was made.
__________________
____________________________________
2015 JKUS purchased new with leaky hard top option. Added faulty electrical harness upgrade in 2017.
Austintatious is offline   Quote
Old 01-16-2018, 03:13 PM   #21
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Quadratec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 2,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austintatious View Post
OP, I also had a bad experience that I'm still dealing with. Ordered an item on a Sunday and realized I had ordered the wrong part so I immediately sent an email to Quadratec asking them to cancel the order. I also called as soon as they opened for business on Monday.

The rep I spoke with had an indifferent attitude much like you described. He told me that he would "attempt" to cancel the order since it was already forwarded to the warehouse. I asked what the window normally was to successfully cancel an order since I called as soon as they opened their phones and he replied that "before it gets to the warehouse". I then asked if he thought there would be an issue getting this order cancelled and he replied "I already told you that I sent a request to cancel the order".

The next day I got notification that a UPS shipping label had been created. I emailed customer service and they replied that they saw were I had already spoken with XXXXX and that "it looks like he took care of it". They also stated that a label being created doesn't mean the item would ship.

Several days go by and guess what shows up at my door? I emailed customer service again and they said that I should be getting an email from UPS "in a couple of days" that will contain a return shipping label, and when I get it I should then take the package to a UPS drop off and they'll issue a refund when they get the item back.

That is simply a ridiculous process for me to go thru and an unnecessary expense to them when attempting to cancel an order immediately after it was made.
Hi there,

Very sorry to see you are unhappy with your experience. When an order is placed on the weekend it processes into the warehouse just after Midnight Sunday night/Monday morning. This means the invoice is printed in the warehouse and the warehouse workers begin picking it first thing. E-mails typically take 1-2 business days for a response.

With your phone call coming in on Monday morning, the warehouse has already picked and processed your shipment. We have the ability to put in a Stop Shipment request to the warehouse. This is basically a last ditch effort to cancel the order. If the package has not made it past the scanner and onto the truck, it can be canceled. However, if it has been packaged on the truck, we are unable to cancel the order and it ships out.

Once shipped, you can either refuse the package when UPS attempts delivery, call 1-800-PICK-UPS within 24 hours and tell them that you refuse the unopened package, or we can have a prepaid label sent to you as you stated. I'm sorry you find this to be a ridiculous process.

If you can PM me your order number I can take a look into this further.

Thanks & have a great afternoon,

-Rick
__________________

We Price Match, PM us for a quote
Forum Member Discounts

Active Hours: 9am-5pm EST Monday - Friday
Wrangler PartsWrangler WheelsWrangler TiresWrangler Lift KitsWrangler BumpersWrangler Soft Tops
Quadratec is offline   Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 12:32 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 766
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadratec View Post
Hi there,

Very sorry to see you are unhappy with your experience. When an order is placed on the weekend it processes into the warehouse just after Midnight Sunday night/Monday morning. This means the invoice is printed in the warehouse and the warehouse workers begin picking it first thing. E-mails typically take 1-2 business days for a response.

With your phone call coming in on Monday morning, the warehouse has already picked and processed your shipment. We have the ability to put in a Stop Shipment request to the warehouse. This is basically a last ditch effort to cancel the order. If the package has not made it past the scanner and onto the truck, it can be canceled. However, if it has been packaged on the truck, we are unable to cancel the order and it ships out.

Once shipped, you can either refuse the package when UPS attempts delivery, call 1-800-PICK-UPS within 24 hours and tell them that you refuse the unopened package, or we can have a prepaid label sent to you as you stated. I'm sorry you find this to be a ridiculous process.

If you can PM me your order number I can take a look into this further.

Thanks & have a great afternoon,

-Rick
I understand the order is sent to the warehouse for processing but I called Monday morning to cancel it and the item wasn't shipped from the warehouse until two days later per the UPS tracking log. Seems that provided plenty of time to stop the order and yes I do find it ridiculous that it couldn't be stopped when the package was sitting in the warehouse for two days after I called. Interestingly over the course of those two days I received several emails from customer service stating that it "looked like" the order was cancelled.

I got the email tonight with the return shipping label. The item was delivered over the weekend when I was out of town and I couldn't refuse the package, so I'll make the 25 mile round trip trek in the morning to drop the unopened package at the nearest UPS drop since the return label only includes UPS pickup for an additional charge.
__________________
____________________________________
2015 JKUS purchased new with leaky hard top option. Added faulty electrical harness upgrade in 2017.
Austintatious is offline   Quote
Old 01-17-2018, 09:15 AM   #23
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Quadratec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 2,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austintatious View Post
I understand the order is sent to the warehouse for processing but I called Monday morning to cancel it and the item wasn't shipped from the warehouse until two days later per the UPS tracking log. Seems that provided plenty of time to stop the order and yes I do find it ridiculous that it couldn't be stopped when the package was sitting in the warehouse for two days after I called. Interestingly over the course of those two days I received several emails from customer service stating that it "looked like" the order was cancelled.

I got the email tonight with the return shipping label. The item was delivered over the weekend when I was out of town and I couldn't refuse the package, so I'll make the 25 mile round trip trek in the morning to drop the unopened package at the nearest UPS drop since the return label only includes UPS pickup for an additional charge.
@Austintatious I am home at the moment, but I see you sent a PM. I'll be back on the forums tonight. Don't take the package to UPS - that's a long haul. I'll send UPS physically by your house to pick it up. That's not a problem. I'll send you full details via PM later tonight.

Thanks!

-Rick
Austintatious likes this.

__________________

We Price Match, PM us for a quote
Forum Member Discounts

Active Hours: 9am-5pm EST Monday - Friday
Wrangler PartsWrangler WheelsWrangler TiresWrangler Lift KitsWrangler BumpersWrangler Soft Tops
Quadratec is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC