Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here but I've searched the boards and can't find a solution so here goes. I've got an 04 TJ with a 4" suspension lift and a 1.5" BL (recently lowered from 3" BL) and 35" BFG tires: When I'm in 3rd or 4th gear and quickly take my foot off the gas pedal, the whole body seems to shimmy. It's as though when I'm in the gas the body torques to the left and then back to the right when I let off. Could be coincidence but it seemed to start this after I took 1.5" of the BL out. Any ideas? It's driving me nuts! Thanks!!!

·
Premium Member
1,011 Posts
Did you replace the bolts when you took out the 3" lift? I believe the bolts go into nutserts and if they are too long they may not be holding the tub on tight but could still be torqued correctly. Get under the jeep and have someone rock it side to side and see if there is movement.
Check your motor mounts to see if they're cracked and check your transmission mount on the skid plate. Not too uncommon for the mount to break.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick reply! Checked all those this morning....nothing seems loose, no cracked welds, used new bolts when I lowered it. I did some reading about torque steer and it sounded similar except that even letting go of the wheel at 55, when I quickly accelerate or decelerate it tracks straight down the road. It feels like the entire tub torques. it's probably doing it in 1st and 2nd but it's just way more obvious in the higher gears.

·
Premium Member
1,011 Posts