Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 61k mile old 2004 TJ with the 4.0 and 5 speed. (Yeah, I stoked!).. I've had 5-6 jeeps through the years but have been away from them for several years. I'm thrilled to be back.

Anyway, this one runs/rides perfectly. But, after it's sat for a while (even like at lunch), it is very difficult to start. It spins the starter like crazy, but no cranking... Try, wait, try again, wait, etc - after a couple of tries it fires up and runs great. After it's running, I can shut it off and it will restart immediately.

I'm no mechanic, so I'm kinda lost here. Could it be something like fuel draining away from the injectors and taking a while to pump fuel back through the lines? (I also have a resto-mod 54 Olds with EFI and you have to have the ignition on for 4-5 seconds to give the fuel pump time to pressurize the lines before it'll crank)

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It turns over - just won't fire. Don't know if it's lack of fire or lack of fuel... It did this on my test drive, and previous owner said he pumped the throttle a time or two before trying.. that isn't working for me, and sounds more like a carb fix than a FI fix anyway LOL

·
Registered
238 Posts
There's a few threads going right now about these same symptoms. I can only say get a fuel pressure guage and see what you have for fuel pressure at the rail. Ck it with just the key in 'run' position, then ck with engine running, then while driving. Then shut engine off and see if system holds pressure or it bleeds off. This test should rule out or condem the fuel pump

·
Registered
15,661 Posts
Should be 49 but probably check valve in tank pissing away pressure

Try 3 or 4 cycles of key on then off each cycle raving on on for 3-5 seconds each cycle