Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Threw a rod in the 07 JKU, searching for another 3.8. Junk yard tells me it’s a 07 only fit engine but can’t tell me why the 08 thru 13 won’t work, anybody know? Is it just electronics or what?

·
Registered
428 Posts
I’m not an expert but will say that in ‘12 the engine changed to 3.6l V6 and I think some other mechanicals changed as well, no clue on what level of complexity changing from 3.8l to 3.6l would be. Others on here will be able to say with great expertise. It seems that most who go to that trouble of changing versus replacing with same just go ahead and do the LS swap or maybe a Hemi or even Cummins. That could be confirmation bias though, so maybe just haven’t seen posts from people taking other paths.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I’m not an expert but will say that in ‘12 the engine changed to 3.6l V6 and I think some other mechanicals changed as well, no clue on what level of complexity changing from 3.8l to 3.6l would be. Others on here will be able to say with great expertise. It seems that most who go to that trouble of changing versus replacing with same just go ahead and do the LS swap or maybe a Hemi or even Cummins. That could be confirmation bias though, so maybe just haven’t seen posts from people taking other paths.
Yes, you are correct, 3.8s only to 2011. But not sure why JUnk yard says 07 only. Other swaps not in the budget right now and always had enough power to do anything I need it for anyway. I trail/dune ride in summer and plow snow in winter. Thanks

·
Registered
428 Posts
Yes, you are correct, 3.8s only to 2011. But not sure why JUnk yard says 07 only. Other swaps not in the budget right now and always had enough power to do anything I need it for anyway. I trail/dune ride in summer and plow snow in winter. Thanks