Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i'm looking to get 15x8 or 15x10 wheels and i know that 15x8 can be superior offroad but I was just wondering if they ride any different on road? because i don't know why I wouldn't just get 15x8s if they are better offroad, cost less, and supposedly ride the same on road. am i right here?

·
Registered
387 Posts
total newb when it comes to wheels here, can someone give some cliff notes about the differences with this stuff?

·
Mostly old school..!
12,149 Posts
total newb when it comes to wheels here, can someone give some cliff notes about the differences with this stuff?
Not sure exactly what you want to know. 8" wide rims are preferred for up to 12.5" wide tires due to the fact that they will hold a bead better when aired down for off road. They also offer slightly better rim protection off road.

Most try to stick with 15" x 8" rims for our Wranglers. This offers the best selection in tires, and at a lower cost.

Depending on tire width, you should be looking for a wheel back space of between 3.75" and 4.25" if you are running over sized tires.

Hope that helps.

·
Registered
387 Posts
Not sure exactly what you want to know. 8" wide rims are preferred for up to 12.5" wide tires due to the fact that they will hold a bead better when aired down for off road. They also offer slightly better rim protection off road.

Most try to stick with 15" x 8" rims for our Wranglers. This offers the best selection in tires, and at a lower cost.

Depending on tire width, you should be looking for a wheel back space of between 3.75" and 4.25" if you are running over sized tires.

Hope that helps.
It does, thank. All I know is tire diameter, and all the other numbers might as well be Chinese. I'll spend some time on google to figure the rest out.

·
Registered
8,397 Posts