Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey im a newb, but i was curious if anyone had any thoughts of advice if i tried to tow a 2014 nissan juke on a car dolly with an 89 Wrangler with the straight 6 from Austin to Phoenix (pretty flat for the most part)

·
Registered
2,853 Posts
Tow rating that jeep is what? 2000 pounds max. What's the weight of the other vehicle? I looked it up the juke weighs almost 3000 pounds. So no. My advise would be either have it shipped, have a friend drive it, or pay someone to drive it. I would not no way no how ask a 26 year old vehicle to pull another vehicle the same weight on the roadways.

·
Registered
222 Posts
Yeah no way I'd do it. Too heavy. Jeep is short wheelbase which can lead to instability and it lacks brakes powerful enough to stop that heavy a load in a reasonable amount of time. Might be cheap enough to rent a U-haul with a tow hitch or something.

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
If you take your jeep to U-Haul and try to rent a trailer they would tell you no.

If you went there and asked to rent a tow dolly they'd just shoot you. :)

·
Registered
1,727 Posts
You can go on the UHaul website and input the tow vehicle and the vehicle you plan to tow and it will give you a quick definitive answer , more than likely no. I understand it is their policy not to rent anything to be towed with a soft top 2 door Wrangler

·
Registered
3,841 Posts
I think the Max to tow with a YJ is 1500# not 2000#, but that may be just what it says for my 1990 4.2 Auto.
If all steering and breaks are Perfect!

·
Registered
2,853 Posts