Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, my 94 2.5L used to just backfire in the cold weather... it wasn't much of a problem if I let the jeep warm up a couple minutes before driving. But on the way to work today(25min drive) in 65 degree weather, it started backfiring as I got off the interstate.. When it backfires, it seems to be coming from under the floorboard (at the headers?)

I lose power when it backfires so I usually let off the gas or shift it up a gear.

Any ideas?

·
Registered
2,303 Posts
Sounds like it may be running lean. Could be injectors, pressure regulator. Could be a bad sensor like water temp etc.

·
Registered
56 Posts
I am no expert by any means. Mine started backfiring intermittently, so I changed plugs, wires, cap, and rotor button. It fixed my problem and the parts I took off didn't look bad. Hope this helps

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I am no expert by any means. Mine started backfiring intermittently, so I changed plugs, wires, cap, and rotor button. It fixed my problem and the parts I took off didn't look bad. Hope this helps
thanks shanman, I'll have to take a look later this week. I got new wires and plugs. The rotor and cap look fine but it's probably due for a replacement

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I must add, it only does this in gear.. in neutral or with the clutch in, I can rev up with no issues.

It did it on the way home last night and worried me. Everything was good the first 20 mins of my drive but after 5 minutes on the interstate, I felt it bogging down around 2500 rpm and if I pushed the rpms past 2700, it would backfire.

·
Registered
2,303 Posts
x-2.... 1st place to start is with a tune up. I assumed that you had done that but after re-reading the original post..I guess not. A bad plug will misfire under a load.

·