Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok guys, im new to jeeps but not new to cars, im looking for some direction from some people with more jeep experience then i. So my jeep will turn over all day but wont start. Currently it does not throw any codes, fuel pump kicks on and makes almost 50psi. I dont have a noid light but if i put my fingers on the injectors i can feel them firing. Also after awhile of cranking i can smell that its flooded. I guess i cant 100% rule out some fuel related issues but im pretty sure thats not it. So i started checking ignition, I am limited on tools(i know, i am young though and my collection is just starting) I know its getting signal to the coil at minimum so I figured its cheap ill start with coil, cap, rotor, wires and plugs. All that is done now and it still will not start. Any ideas? Thanks in advance for any advice.

·
Registered
371 Posts
Did you pull a plug, ground to the block and check for spark. I would suggest a spark tester, but you said limited tools.

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
I had the same problem about 2 months ago. First I changed the coil and got nothing then I changed the crank position sensor and she fired right up. It was about $70 from advance auto and only took 5 minutes to change. Its located on the bellhousing on the driverside near the top right where the bellhousing meets the block.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I haven't checked for spark at the plugs yet, a spark tester is on the list of tools to buy, along with an ohm meter. Is there a test to check if the crank position is good? Also would it fire the injectors if the crank position is bad?

·
Registered
1,911 Posts
You can test out the CPS with a ohm meter. Unplug the one end see if you are receiving anything on it. Thats what my Hayens says anyways.

·
Registered
1,688 Posts