Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,newbie here wanted to say hello and ask a question. Just purchased a new to me 99 jeep tj 4.0 with approx 146k miles about a month ago, Jeep had a few issues when i got it, death wobble, leak on exaust manifold, heat and ac controls, everything is fixed now and its been doing good. I was hearing a little bit of a knock in the motor after i got the exaust quietened down, so on my oil change i added some marvel mystery oil. driven about 500 miles since then, and today the knock seemed a little louder, also the idle seems to be fluxuating a little, approx 1000 to 800. can barely see the rpm needle moving. a few weeks ago i was backing out of the driveway and all my gauges bottomed out and all of my lights came on, pulled back in the driveway, shut it off, and started it back up and it had a rough idle that went away shortly after and gauges have been fine ever since. it did throw some codes, but i didnt have anything to write them down on.the fluxuating issue started about three days ago. When i replaced the exaust manifold i cleaned the intake was a good bit of build up in it, also cleaned the throttle body and replaced the gasket. I am hoping that these issues arent all tied together but have a fear that they may be. Has anyone experienced anything like this before? Any ideas on where to start looking? Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks and look forward to being on the forum for quiet a while. Tripp

·
Registered
8,402 Posts
I would recheck everything you dismantled and re-installed. Air leaks can cause wacky thing to happen and confuse the motor/computer.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·