Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I'm new to this so bare with me. I'm hoping to get the answer or help I need. I just put a 4 inch skyjacker lift on my 04 jeep wrangler with 35 inch tires, well I need a little more clearance for my tire's due to having approx. 2 inch's of clearance behind tire and fender. How hard is a 2 inch body lift to put on and how much modifications do you have to do as for linkage etc. Any help would be great.

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
You need to center your wheels at full up travel and properly install bump stops.

A 2 inch BL, just say no.

J

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I know I may sound dumb but believe me I'm attempting to learn something from more experienced people. When you say I need to center my wheels how do you do that? As for bump stops I was told by a local shop not to worry about the bump stops unless I plan on jumping my jeep. Which I'll be honest the main thing my jeep see's is mud on the hunting lease and area's we ride, I tell you this due to wanting your opinion if I hit a rut or anything such as a deep washout in your opinion its fare to say I best put bump stops back on?

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
You need bump stops--period.

To center the wheels you need to remove the springs and cycle the suspension to check for interference and then adjust your control arms to position and center the axles and the bump stops keep the tires from running into the fenders/flares. Your track bars should be adjusted to center the axles left and right.

I do not know if the Skyjacker lift allows for all this, it is a low end lift so you may need some immediate upgrades. Lifting a Jeep is not as easy as slapping big tires on it. You would probably have better luck, not what you want to hear, if you went down to 33 inch tires.