Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I went off-roading with my Jk on Saturday, went through a small pond on some family's property and got the bad boy all nice and dirty like it should be!! Nothing crazy but got pretty deep in some mud and water. So I was out cleaning it today and noticed that since it has been parked and not driven since sat I went and started it to pull it out of the barn and noticed that my power steering wasn't working and the power steering fluid was completely empty. I didn't have time to inspect the problem but curious if anyone would be able to lead me in the right direction on how to trouble shoot it. Thanks for any help!!!
Plus I'm a newbie to owning a jeep and this thread, located in dfw. Looking forward to getting to know some of you guys.

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
There should be obvious signs of a leak. Trace your PS lines and you should be able to find it. Look around the steering sector and pump for leakage. If you lost all your fluid in one afternoon, there should be evidence of it someplace.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So I put fluid in the reservoir, and then I started the engine and all the sudden ps fluid was getting on the belt somehow and spraying all over everything. So then I turn off the engine and look for a leak somewhere and can't find anything dripping from any of the lines. So I let it sit for a week to try and dry up and see if I can figure out where the leak might be coming from. As of yesterday once I started it again to move it under the lean too to work on it and the PS worked?!?! And now today once I started it again the PS seemed a little sluggish and it wouldn't hardly turn without the vehicle being in motion. So I'm a little confused on what the problem might be. No sign of leak anywhere and PS fluid is still in the reservoir. Any ideas from anyone???

·
Registered
783 Posts