Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, everyone!!!!

I am brand new to the Jeep world, having purchased my baby, Rogue, just over a month ago. Before Rogue came along, I have never felt love for any car I've owned!

The tragedy of all tragedies took place this morning, and unfortunately, Rogue has a ding on the plastic front bumper...I am done crying now, and ready to fix her up :doh:

Fellow Jeep lovers.....is there a way that I can fix this myself WITHOUT going to a collision repair center that will charge me $300+ to fix?

Thank you!

·
Registered
1,669 Posts
welcome to the forum :)

We give better advice when you add pictures, but even with pictures, almost everyone is going to suggest an off road steel bumper.

the plastic part is hollow, so trying to hammer a dent out would mean drilling a large hole in the back of the plastic part to get access to the inside, and after the stress, the platic won't look like it did regardless... A slide hammer might work, but that requires drilling holes in the front, and there's no way to really cover it over...

If you're concerned about appearance enough to worry about it, replacement is the only "good" option...

·
Registered
1,669 Posts
aw geez... that's not getting "repaired" lol...

Either replacement, with an OEM or with an aftermarket, or you can "stubby" it. I just did mine last weekend.

Would probably look even better with the Sahara's metal trim in the middle...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you for your quick reply! Aelwero, that looks awesome!

My hubby will definitely like the project of shaving down the bumper, or even replacing it for that matter. Thank you for the suggestion!

·
Registered
936 Posts