Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I'm sure you get this a lot but I couldn't find a sure-fire answer through my searching so I thought I would pose it to the experts (you guys). Apologizing in advance for the noob questions. Right now I have a pretty much stock (aside from a lightbar and KC lights) 2011 JK. I've come to love the tires on the next step-up Rubicons and want to add something similar to my JK.

1) Any idea if it's cheaper to go with the rubicon stock tires or a tire that's similar in tread? I'm going to need tire and wheel.

2) What am I looking at for a price range? Ideally I would like to spend no more than $1500 for all 5 wheels but that may be and probably is wishful thinking.

3) Can my stock 2011 JK take a wheel like that without a lift/any other upgrades? I'm not a mechanical person by any means (Trying to learn) and am not sure if things like suspension/break pads would go hand in hand with upgrading wheels. Will I notice a huge difference in mileage or anything of that sort?

Thanks a ton in advance for any help,
Ryan

·
Registered
317 Posts
Your least expensive option if you want Rubicon like Wheels and tires is go onto Craigslist and look for some take-offs, where someone has upgraded to 33's or 35's and is now selling their original wheels/tires. I imagine it would save you a considerable amount of money.

·
Premium Member
4,392 Posts
The Firestone mud rover looks pretty similar. You could always get the new version of the mud tire that came on the rubicons. They are actually a little quieter and a little better off road. That's the BFG mud terrain KM2(the km is stock on rubis)

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the heads up clvn, I'll start looking. Was doing a little more digging, is the 2011 Rubicon Tire on the same wheel as the 2011 Wrangler sport Tire? Looks like then I wouldn't need to replace the wheel after all but just merely 5 tires.

·