Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm new to actually posting on the forum but have lurked a little when issues have come up. I'm at my wits end on this one right now and wasn't able to find a write up on testing or replacing the ignition switch, which I think may be my issue.
Here's the scoop, I have a 2011 JKU, 6 speed manual, chipped, cold air intake and throttle body spacer, otherwise stock with respect to anything that I could imagine affecting it starting. Right now when I turn the key to the starting position I get one click in the fuse box from the K2 ("run") relay. Nothing from the starter relay. I checked voltage at the starter, it's good on the big pole from the battery but wasn't getting anything on the smaller wire that goes to the blade connector. Jumping 12V from the battery to that blade connector does activate the starter and the motor turns over freely, but won't start even with the key in the "on" position. I've tried it with the clutch pushed in, and tried the clutch switch bypass, connecting the yellow and red wire from that to ground even to fool it, as well as trying to start in 4LO which I had read makes the clutch irrelevant.
Is there something else I'm missing that could be wrong? So far as I can tell the ignition switch is working OK, it acts like normal in both the ACC and ON positions. Help!

Thanks!

·
Registered
409 Posts
If it helps I had a bad wire going to my starter back in the spring. Caused all sorts of headaches until the shop located it

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·