Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at getting a 2012 Rubi. I am new to off-roading and I am very confused as to which transmission is better. I would love to get a manual but don't know which is best for off-roading.

Does the auto have any benefits that the manual doesn't offer? When off-roading is one better than the other?

·
Marine Jeeper
5,399 Posts
I am looking at getting a 2012 Rubi. I am new to off-roading and I am very confused as to which transmission is better. I would love to get a manual but don't know which is best for off-roading.

Does the auto have any benefits that the manual doesn't offer? When off-roading is one better than the other?
This question has been asked hundreds of time on this forum. There is no simple answer. All of the advice that you will get is going to be somewhat biased because most people will recommend whatever transmission they drive.

So... I love my 6 speed. Most people will tell you that an auto is better for off-road, but I think that a manual just adds an extra little challenge. Some will tell you that you will wear out the clutch too much off road to make it practical, however, depending on the kind of trails you are riding, you may be in 4 low a lot of the time where you don't use the clutch that much.

It's about personal preference. Get what YOU want and not what others recommend. Trust me you will be happier with your choice if it what you want.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I noticed the 2011 build page shows hill descent control with the auto. Is this available with the manual? Does this change with the 2012 model?

·
Marine Jeeper
5,399 Posts
I noticed the 2011 build page shows hill descent control with the auto. Is this available with the manual? Does this change with the 2012 model?