Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally went out for my first test drive today after weeks of research. This will be my first jeep purchase. Looking at the JKU with automatic transmission, power convenience package, and 3 piece hard top. TrueCar valued that at 28,858. After talking numbers, sales rep quoted me 33,975. Told him that this was my first stop and I'm going to be shopping around. He asked me if I had a price in the back of my head that I'm willing to pay and I told him I want an OTD price of 29k. Is this realistic for the package I want? From what I've been researching, it doest seem too far out of the question. He told me there was no way his manager would approve that and he could possibly go 600 lower from his original quote. So i walked. Any new buyers want to share their experience. This is my first time buying a new car, let alone a jeep. All input greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
582 Posts
I'm on my phone, so I can't see where you're from, but there's a group buy in Houston doing 5.5% below invoice and another near DC doing a group buy at 7% below invoice (closer to 5-5.5% after fees, but still really good).

Also, if you join Tread Lightly, you automatically get 1% below invoice.

Personally, I did the DC group buy and was pleased with the process.

·
Registered
1,192 Posts
Where can I find info about the group buy?

·
Registered
122 Posts
Also, don't deal with the idiot sales kid. When you go in, tell them you will only deal with someone who is authorized to sell a vehicle.

·
Registered
10,420 Posts
... TrueCar valued that at 28,858.

... and I told him I want an OTD price of 29k. Is this realistic for the package I want? From what I've been researching, it doest seem too far out of the question.
When I was shopping, the TrueCar dealer was the highest initial quote I got from any. :rolleyes: