Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys im new to all this but i want to put this problem im having out there with my new 2016 jeep wrangler. The under part of my hood is rubbing on my engine compartment and shearing away the paint and metal. Has anyone else had or seen this happen? its rubbing on the upper part of the hood towards the grill let me know your thoughts on this. thanks.

·
Registered
2,468 Posts
Hey guys im new to all this but i want to put this problem im having out there with my new 2016 jeep wrangler. The under part of my hood is rubbing on my engine compartment and shearing away the paint and metal. Has anyone else had or seen this happen? its rubbing on the upper part of the hood towards the grill let me know your thoughts on this. thanks.
Brand new 2016 issue = dealer warranty repair.

Don't mess with it yourself. Take it back to your dealer and show them the issue. You're fully covered.

·
Registered
4,142 Posts
There's probably stuff you can do, but use your warranty for it first. The dealer can screw things up pretty bad too, so keep and eye on it and ask what they are going to do before they do it. It may be something simple enough you can do and then have the dealer get you some touch up paint.

Post some photos here too, maybe it's an easy fix.

·
Registered
723 Posts
The only time this can happen is if you use certain aftermarket hood tie down latches. If your Jeep is stock go straight to the dealer. New car owners with stock vehicles shouldn't have to even think about things like this. Be nice when you go in, it will get you much farther.

·
Registered
10,420 Posts
I am not 100% sure what you mean is rubbing up against the underside of the hood, but if its the engine cover, I would guess that the engine cover is loose and needs to be pushed back down and reseated.