Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, First time here and apologies if it's the wrong spot for this topic!

TLDR: Need advice/tips/information on the driveshaft upgrade after putting my 3.5 first lift on.

So I am relatively new to the Jeep family, purchased my Sahara 4-Door back in August of 2019. Decided a few months back after saving up, that it was time to do some mods! New exhaust (Not needed, but thank god for removing the trashcan lol), cold air intake (Not needed, just wanted), and finally my first lift kit! I went with a Rough Country 3.5in kit w. N3 shocks and adjustable track bar (Was on sale, good reviews, etc).

Now my buddy who has helped me with all of this (sadly we fell out of contact) let me know that I need to upgrade my driveshaft after doing the lift before doing any off road trips (other than basic trails) and putting larger tires on (In my case, I don't want much more than the stock 35 size, just wider with different tread). I am at a loss of where to start however!

Just front?
Front and rear?
Suggested brands/models under or around 500 USD?
Help and advice? :unsure:

Anything anyone has to offer, I do appreciate it so thank you in advance!

·
Registered
6,034 Posts
I would suggest Tom Woods shafts. Also, you are looking at 500$ or so for each end of the jeep.

·
RETIRED MODERATOR
65,435 Posts
Welcome to the Forum, from Cave Creek AZ.

Reactions: Raiever

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I would suggest Tom Woods shafts. Also, you are looking at 500$ or so for each end of the jeep.
So it does have to be both front and back copy that. Is there a preference on which goes first? As well, is there any real threat of damage to the vehicle if I do one, save up a few months then do the other? (Obviously still keeping in mind not to do any heavy trailing etc)

Welcome to the Forum, from Cave Creek AZ.