Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I considering Toyo X treme AT II 285/75R17 tires which are E rated and would like to know how stiff they may ride compared to 315/70R17 Duratrac's D rated tires on a two door AEV 2 1/2" lift. Thanks, Steve

·
Registered
429 Posts
I have no experience with either of your mentioned tires, but I am running D rated BFG AT/KO's in a 315/70/17 on Old Man Emu springs, Bilstein 5100's and a few other suspension bits with zero complaints. Good luck, report back.

·
Registered
603 Posts
With proper air pressure 28-30 lbs, the E rating should be good. I have 285/75/17s being installed with AEV 2.5 lift next week. Good luck. Where in Ohio are you? I'm in the northern half.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Located in Lancaster. I have Nitto Terra 285/75R17's on my cummins and love them but was concerned with the stiff sidewall and 80 psi rating on a light weight JK.

·
Premium Member
2,800 Posts
I have not tried the Toyos but I do have Duratrac 285/75/17 on mine and just completed a 1,250 mile journey including some advanced dirt roads (not really trails), a lot of winding two lane and some freeway. They handled great. I really leaned on them in a few corners and they did super with inflation at 32 PSI.

·
Registered
117 Posts
I just put E rated 2585/70x17 BFG KO's on mine a few days ago. Completely stock suspension and I think they ride a whole lot better than the stock tires.

·
Registered
560 Posts
So you are switching out of duratracs, why?

At the sizes you are looking at why not just go for the 35x12.50x17 toyo at2's?
They measure at 34.5" to toyo specs so I assume they are only 34".

·
Premium Member
2,800 Posts
Duratrac's are 285/70R17 I wish they made they in a 285/75R17 then my decision would be easy.