Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
472 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am adding a Detroit True-Trac very soon to the front pumpkin and since I'm almost 60, I think I will stay with the 32" tires. I have the auto tranny and I wonder what advantage I would gain with swapping to 4.10 gears over what I have besides a modest boost in off-roading ability. Since my JKU will reach overdrive quicker, you reckon I will get about the same mileage I'm getting right now, which is an averaged 17.5 mpg? I imagine a Rubi owner can answer this one fairly easy. BTW, I am a very modest driver when it comes to mashing the go pedal.

·
Registered
8,554 Posts
4.10s would be a waste. You'll want at least 4.88s and possibly even 5.13s. Along with a ProCal, the result will be substantially more power, especially on the highway. You'll actually be able to pass people going uphill, OD will be useful, etc.

·
Registered
9,914 Posts
:whistling: Interesting--

So as the AGE goes up---the TIRE SIZE goes down-huh !

What manual are you reading, or ???

:dance::rofl: JIMBO

·
i'm back
13,706 Posts
:whistling: Interesting--

So as the AGE goes up---the TIRE SIZE goes down-huh !

What manual are you reading, or ???

:dance::rofl: JIMBO

i can see this thread going downhill quickly! :rofl:

-bob :nonono:

·
Registered
166 Posts
uhh no. you will be fine with 3.73's. 4.13's would be a nice little upgrade but im not sure if it would be enough of a difference to tell. i dont think it is necessary. but at the same time while you have it apart why not.

·
Registered
472 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I installed the 2.5 inch Teraflex lift and my wife is very short, so climbing up into the Jeep is already a task and I have short legs to boot. If I go up in tire size, it will be harder for her to get in... Why am I having to answer these questions? This ain't my first rodeo. :flowers:

·