Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm new to jeeps and bought my first one about four months ago now. It has a few aftermarket suspension parts, looks like all skyjacker stuff. But according to a dealer nothing in the suspension is giving a lift. It only has a 3 inch body lift.

I've read plenty of the warnings of that big of a body lift in all the forms on here but my question is…. Is the 3 inch body lift making my ride a lot more rough? I know jeeps are always a rougher ride but mine seems really rough. I've ridden in jeeps in the past but so long ago I don't really remember how the ride was.

Attachments

·
Vendor
6,014 Posts
So I'm new to jeeps and bought my first one about four months ago now. It has a few aftermarket suspension parts, looks like all skyjacker stuff. But according to a dealer nothing in the suspension is giving a lift. It only has a 3 inch body lift.

I've read plenty of the warnings of that big of a body lift in all the forms on here but my question is…. Is the 3 inch body lift making my ride a lot more rough? I know jeeps are always a rougher ride but mine seems really rough. I've ridden in jeeps in the past but so long ago I don't really remember how the ride was.
The body lift shouldn't effect your ride quality. It increase your center of gravity of course, but Shocks will effect your ride quality the most. If yours are especially stiff or possibly worn out, replacing them with new shocks that are valved according to your springs and the weight of your rig will help improve ride quality a bunch! Let me know what questions you have!

-Ryan

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Was really hoping it was just the tire pressure! But going off the stock requirements in the doorjamb, which said 29 pounds, all four tires were around 3 pounds low so I bumped them all up to 29 pounds. Guess I'll look into the shocks next! Thanks for the help!

·
Administrator
12,561 Posts