Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So if I put on flat fenders and installed a 2" lift, am I really going to be in bad shape with 33x12.5x15 tires?

As strange as it may sound, I really wouldn't mind the 'tighter' look of the tires with a smaller lift, just as long as I can drive and turn without any problems.

The guy I spoke with said he could make an adjustment to a 'pin' or something on the wheels to prevent any rubbing. I am completely new to all this so all of my knowledge is coming from what I learn here.

·
Knows a couple things...
49,001 Posts
For offroading, 2" of lift doesn't provide enough clearance for 33" tires, 4" is recommended. For street use so long as you don't have to drive over any big dips or bumps much which would cause the tires to rub, maybe you'd be ok.

This is the adjustment you'd make if the inside sidewall rubs when you turn the steering wheel all the way left or right. Jeep Steer Stop Adjustment

Personally I wouldn't run 33's with just a 2" lift but you'd be ok with 32x11.50 tires.

·
Registered
22,773 Posts
My 99 TJ. Suspension was stock except for stock LJ springs and a 3/4" spacer on the front springs to compensate for the winch. Also had a 1.25" body lift. MCE flat fenders in front, no fender flares or inner wells in back. 33x10.50 KM2s on Pro comp 15" steel.wheels with around 4" backspacing. No rubbing offroad even when disconnected. So, yes, i dont agree with Jerry on this one issue,(everything else usually :). It is possible to run 33s successfully on very little lift.

ForumRunner_20140525_173159.jpg

gus5_zps79c51fff-1.jpg

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
For offroading, 2" of lift doesn't provide enough clearance for 33" tires, 4" is recommended. For street use so long as you don't have to drive over any big dips or bumps much which would cause the tires to rub, maybe you'd be ok.