Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New jeep owner here. Just bought my 2002 TJ a couple weeks ago, and the previous owner had 31x10.5 duratracs on 15x8 Pacer Soft 8's that I believe have 3.75" BS. The tires currently stick out just a little bit from the stock flares, and to me, it is the perfect amount. I love the duratracs that are on it, but I want to upgrade to 33" tires, and unfortunately Goodyear doesn't make a 33x10.5 like BFG. My question is this: by getting the 33x12.5's and keeping the same wheel setup, would my tires then stick out 2 more inches from the flares on each side? Like just the difference in the 12.5 and 10.5? This may be a simple question, but I am new to this and just trying to get a better grasp. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,435 Posts
Get a set of Rubicon or Sahara flares . They are wider than the standard flares and you would still have a little tire sticking out. If you go to a 6 or 7 inch flare they will dwarf the tires and look kind of silly in most cases with a 12.50 tire.

·
Registered
9,000 Posts
They would stick out about 1" further as the other inch would be in the wheel well....

Personally, having had both duratracs and bfg's..... go w the bfg's n get the 10.50's

I'll never buy another set of duratracs

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
They would stick out about 1" further as the other inch would be in the wheel well....

Personally, having had both duratracs and bfg's..... go w the bfg's n get the 10.50's

I'll never buy another set of duratracs
What do you like better about the bfgs over the duratracs?

·
Registered
15,711 Posts
Duratrak better in snow BFG better size choice stronger less damage prone side walls and wear better/last longer