Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I am new to this.
I am running currently 33x12.5 with a 4.1 gearing.
going down the interstate with 60 mph i ran at 1900 rpms.
is it ok to put 35x12.5 on with this gearing?

The jeep has a 4.0L in it.
The rear is a dana 44 and the front a dana 35

thanks for your help:pcwhack:

·
Administrator
12,622 Posts
do you mean 4.11 gears or a transmission with 4:1 1st gear? also front axle should be a dana 30. no issue with running 4.11's and 33's..

·
Registered
688 Posts
i am running 3.73 and 35's haha. you'll have no issues with 4.10 gears. The dana 44 is fine with 35's and your front end is dana 30 not a dana 35. dana 35 is a rear axle.

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
AHHH....
that shows you how green i am.
4.11 is the gears.
I was wondering about the difference the tires will make on the rpm and if it still has plenty of power on the highway

·
Registered
6 Posts
Are you sure you have 4.10 gears? Typically only Rubicons or 4 cyl wranglers have 4.10 gears. If you have a rubicon you also have Dana 44s front and rear.

Do you have an auto or manual?

For reference, I am running 35s on a rubi 5 speed with 4.10 gearing and it does fine around town and on the highway until I hit a hill then it bogs down a bit.

On another note if you don't have a rubicon with 44s you may want to stick with 33s unless you are willing to make the many investments needed to run 35s.

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
It is a sport but has the dana 44 in the rear.
It is also a 5 speed with the 4.0 l
Can the front axel handle the 35 tires?

·
Knows a couple things...
49,412 Posts
The rear Dana 44 came with 3.73 gearing from the factory, were your axles regeared to 4.10 by the previous owner?