Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just purchased a 2014 Wrangler, 6 speed man. I have read most of the threads regarding this transmission, and I do not want to seem redundant. My jeep has 500 miles on it and I just wanted to verify with all you guys that my concern is just a normal Jeep feel. 2nd gear appears tough to get in, but no grinding. Third gear , I can feel the synchro's slightly as it enters, and reverse is difficult to get into most of the time. I have been a Mercedes Mechanic my whole life, but I am new to the Jeep family.
I love the jeep and realize it is a rough around the edges, type of vehicle. I would just feel better if all you guys told me that this is part of owning a jeep and normal for this 6 speed. What are your experiences with the new 6 speed?

·
Registered
332 Posts
I had a 2011 JK and when accelerating I would normally go 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 6th at about 45 mph. It will get "broken in" soon enough. I did sometimes have to hunt for reverse.

·
Registered
8,968 Posts
The JK manual 6 spd. is the same trans. since 07. When you shift, shift it. Don't go easy with it. For reverse, push it all the way to the right and down with some authority. If you try to ease it in like pretty much any other domestic or foreign manual it won't work as well. For lack of a better term, don't limp wrist it.

·
The Bad Guy
23,233 Posts
The JK manual 6 spd. is the same trans. since 07. When you shift, shift it. Don't go easy with it. For reverse, push it all the way to the right and down with some authority. If you try to ease it in like pretty much any other domestic or foreign manual it won't work as well. For lack of a better term, don't limp wrist it.
Actually it was also used in the last year or 2 of the TJ as well.

·
Registered
196 Posts