Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all:wavey::wavey:
well im new to jeeps as the first one i found out was a lemon but any way
i have a 1989 2.5l 5speed it has a 3in body lift stock springs with shackle i think a 2in lift with jeep wagoneer 10- spoke rims would 33 1250 15 work on those rims with out spacers im not a big fan of uesing them as i have 2 kids and do they idle and run a little ruff with a tbi and what type of upgrades i can do to that year motor wise thaks nick

·
Registered
582 Posts
Yes they will fit. Got the same wheels with 33x12.5 super swampers. When I bought it, it had 2" body and 2" shackle lift. No rubbing, fit fine.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
cool thanksfor the in put on the tires. well took the 89 out for a little drive with my son it runs and drives good but it started to backfire when slowing down it has almost 200000 miles on it and it was driven all the time so im thinking tune up on it but is it carbed or tbi ???

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
well took another drive and after it was up to temp going down a dirt road every time i hit the brake it would stall out and try to stall and back fire slowing down as well at speeds the qustion i have would be would the vac or lack of it when braking would cause that and how to fix the issue and i got a chance to pull off the intake to see if it was carb or tbi and it is tbi so im lost on tbi as far as how they work but she runs well has power idle is off just the backfire and stalling has got me

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
all the 1990's and earlier I ever owned had a carb..brake booster uses vacuum from the intake so you could have a bad brake booster

·
Registered
152 Posts