Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am by no means a mechanic not even close so forgive the basic lingo and any replies I'd appreciate in very laymen's lingo....

Ok so I have a 95 wrangler 2.5L 4cyl, only have about 2000 miles on a rebuilt engine. It has been purring like a kitten that is until recently. I noticed that for some reason it'll shift fine going highway speeds until I get to 5th gear and then it acts like it won't let me shift into 5th, I'll move the shifter around and mess with the clutch and eventually it'll let me shift into 5th. When I come to a stop it slides right in to 1st but it seems like the idle is just a little higher than normal and because before I could sit at a light with it in first and clutch in no problem, now it seems like once I'm at a stop and in first gear with the clutch in its acting like its ready to go I have to actually put the brake down. I noticed that it seems like I'm shifting a little closer to the floor than I remember but that could be just me... I don't know maybe someone can shed some light on something that could be wrong. I did check the fluid for the clutch and there are no leaks and fluid is present. When the engine was rebuilt they also put a new clutch kit in. That was a couple years ago and absolutely no problems til now...

Any help will be very appreciated....

·
Registered
74 Posts
Hey man I was in the same boat as you, no idea of how a clutch operated, that is until I had to redo one myself twice Cus I screwed it up the first time. But what it sounds like is that your clutch isn't totally disengaging, now that could be any number of things starting with your master and hydraulic setup, and your throwout bearing and fork that its set on. I still wouldent put it past there being air in your hydraulic setup somehow that isnt giving you the power, were the hydraulics replaced with the clutch, and if you think so can you confirm it?

·
Registered
18 Posts