Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 343 Posts

·
Registered
426 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a 1997 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sahara 4.0 for two reasons. (1) I really like Jeeps and their ruggedness and (2) I want to do an engine swap. I’ll also do some cosmetic and suspension improvements as well. This forum is a great source of information and I draw on the vast amount of experience here.

First, as for timing, I’m sure it will be slow going. Right now, I have another engine that I’m building and need to get through that one first before tackling the Jeep.

Second, I am not a mechanic and have little experience with this type of endeavor. However, I am ambitious and driven. If I set my mind to something, I will get it done.

Therefore, I am sure I will be asking a ton of questions from you, the experts.

Over Memorial Day weekend, I pulled a 5.3 out of a wrecked 2003 Chevy Tahoe along with its transmission. I believe the transmission is the 4L60E, but not 100%. I’ll find out soon enough. I had never pulled an engine and it was quite an experience.

Okay, the first question: Should I use the transfer that came attached to the 4L60E or use the one that’s currently in the Jeep and find an adapter?

Thanks,
Ted

Attachments

·
Registered
7 Posts
The Tahoe tcase might be push button 4wd, no connection to the tcase with a lever. I would buy an adapter or use a S10 NP231 front half with the Jeep NP231 rear half or find a NP241 out of a late model Chevy truck. 92-94 or so.

·
Super Moderator
3,771 Posts

·
Registered
2,372 Posts
You can put a np241c on the end of that 4l60e or you can get an adapter from Novak or maybe AA if the sell one, and put the np231 on the end of it. If you want to run factory gauges, I'd recommend the adapter rout. It's expensive up front, bUT will keep you from having to install a device from Dakota digital. I haven't gotten to the latter idea yet.

·
Registered
2,372 Posts