Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Wrangler world and am trying to spec out a new Sport Unltd. Can anyone tell me what they recommend for backup cameras? Is the only way to install it yourself after purchase? If so, any recommended system? I did do a forum search but couldn't quite find the answer to this. Thanks!

·
Registered
40 Posts
There's no factory option for a backup camera so you have to after market.

Obviously you need to have a head unit that works with a camera so you'll have to decide between upgrading to the 430 radio from factory or go aftermarket with it as well.

A popular unit hear is the pioneer nex4200 if you want to compare. The upside of the pioneer is that it's the same price as the factory unit, but it has more features (car play, Android auto). Of course then you have install price if you dont do it yourself.

When it comes to the cameras themselves you've got to decide where you want to install it. There's some that mount to the rear bumper and there's some that mount to the spare tire. I'm not really that familiar with any bumper mounted cameras because I knew I wanted one that mounted to the tire so the 2 I looked at were the alpine hce-tcam1-wra and the brandmotion 9002-8847.

I ended up going with the brandmotion because the bracket is adjustable for tire size and I can still use a spare tire bike/ski mount. It is really expensive though

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
491 Posts
I did a write-up a while back and built my own camera bracket. I got a cheap camera and a rear view mirror with a built in LCD screen.

I had a base head unit and didn't want to spend a lot for one with a screen, so this was very cost effective solution. Total cost was about $150.

Jeep Wrangler Backup Camera Bracket - Tam's DIY Projects

·
Registered
1,168 Posts