Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at a 1997 4.0 with 90k on it. Going to be driving about an hour to look at it. I never owned a wrangler (always wanted one) and need to know some things to look for. I'm not a mechanic and don't know a whole lot about engines beyond the basics. Can anyone give me some red flags to look for or common problems I should look for. The asking price is $5500.00 which seems reasonable for a 4.0. The pictures show some slight rust on the bumpers but I see that on wranglers a lot here in PA. Also what does a new soft top run on average these days?

·
Registered
17 Posts
tomass79 said:
I'm looking at a 1997 4.0 with 90k on it. Going to be driving about an hour to look at it. I never owned a wrangler (always wanted one) and need to know some things to look for. I'm not a mechanic and don't know a whole lot about engines beyond the basics. Can anyone give me some red flags to look for or common problems I should look for. The asking price is $5500.00 which seems reasonable for a 4.0. The pictures show some slight rust on the bumpers but I see that on wranglers a lot here in PA. Also what does a new soft top run on average these days?
Doesn't sound bad. Is the seller the original owner? And you get a new soft top on eBay for $275. My dad just bought one for his 98.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
whats the best way to look for a solid frame? I can only see so much crawling underneath. There's always some rust under older vehicles up north. I don't know what's considered bad and what is normal.

·
Registered
416 Posts
tomass79 said:
whats the best way to look for a solid frame? I can only see so much crawling underneath. There's always some rust under older vehicles up north. I don't know what's considered bad and what is normal.