Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
280 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone I am buying my first Wrangler sometime this month and I think I've found the one I'm into for the right price.

Some background:
I have done most of the basic wreching on my vehicles since I was 16 (now 21) I.E. water pumps, belts, lights, sound systems, brakes, etc. I'm a technician by trade but wranglers and Jeep mechanics are a whole other world, so pardon any ignorance on my part.
I live in the Northwest so this vehicle is going to get play, not a street Jeep. However it will mostly be mountain trails and beach runs.
I have a dog, a big siberian husky who is always co pilot.
I haven't driven stick since I was 16.

That being said I've always been a fan of the TJ and honestly pretty much all around sold on that model. My budget is no more than 12k and my only musts are hardtop and an I6.

I did find a nice 98 TJ that I'm very much considering buying. So far I have talked them down from 11k to $9,750 out the door with the condition they buy my vehicle at $12,750 (It's worth about 10-11 so I can square away everything with the bank). So realistically I've got them down to about 7k. It's a great little ride. Completely redone interior, sound bar, no interior rust, hardtop, A/C, clean engine and tub.

My hesitations come with a few things I saw while getting a look underneath. I noticed a leak the first time I went to look at the Jeep and wrote it off as A/C runoff due to no smell or color. But now a few days later I went back to check it out after hours without a pesky dealer around and saw a dried spot and residue all over one particular area I'm not familiar with. I have two youtube links to some video I took. The rest of the body looks great for being a 98 very minimal rust with no signs of rusting through, clean alternator, good looking belt, everything functions mechanically, etc.

98 TJ part 1 - YouTube

98 TJ - YouTube