Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm wanting to do a 3.5" lift with 35's on my 2011 Sahara Unlimited. Other then the drive shaft clearance issue, are there any other issues I should address when I do the lift? My jeep is stock other then wheels and a steel front bumper (they were on it when I bought it). This is my daily driver, with occasional trail riding, I don't plan to do a lot of rock crawling but would like to be able to if the need comes up. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

I'm new to the 4x4 community, I grew up around muscle cars and rail buggies

·
Registered
4,719 Posts
2.5” is plenty for 35s even with factory fenders. Regear and brake upgrade would be useful.

·
Super Moderator
4,584 Posts
As mentioned, unless you need the extra clearance a 2.5" lift is enough to easily run 35" tires. And as a side note, most 2.5" lifts will get you 3" or more of actual lift. A 3.5" lift will typically give you around 4" of lift.
Another thing to consider, you are often better off spending the money to do a 2.5" lift as good as possible vs taking that same amount of money and going with a lesser 3.5" lift. The difference in cost between a 2.5" and 3.5" lift is quite large. A well thought out 3.5" lift of good quality will often cost near twice what a comparable 2.5" lift will cost.
And as mentioned, you can take any money you save and spend it on re-gearing (best power upgrade you can do to a Jeep) and bigger brakes. Bigger tires take more power to spin up and more brakes to slow down.

·
Registered
4,603 Posts
With 35's you don't really need anything more than 2.5 inches but if you just want height then you may want to consider a 3" suspension lift with a 1.25" body lift. Between the 2 that will give to 4.25 inches (plus another inch or so with the 35's). You'll get more height on the fenders with the body lift and you'll stay out of the insanely expensive end of higher suspension lifts and drive shaft issues