Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i just met with a potential seller for a '04 unlimited car.. and man, i get a weird vibe.

first, when i spoke to him the first time, I asked for the VIN number.. he tells me he doesn't know it... which was fishy to begin with.

the second time i spoke to him, he tells me that i heard wrong and that he does know it.. and includes the fact that the car has been in an accident before.

third, i just test drove it.. and mind you it's my first time driving a wrangler... and it felt nice, but some things just didn't feel right.

he tells me that there's no power steering in wranglers
. true or false?

then i saw that his trunk door key is loose, and he then tells me that someone broke into his car to steal his back seat!!! so not only did he neglect to tell me that the vehicle was in an accident the first time... he forgot to tell me that he doesn't have the back seats and it's been broken into before. oh, and no car alarm.... not looking good so far...

any tips, advices? i dont think i'm even going to look up the car on carfax, or etc... just wanted to hear from some experts on used wrangler buying..

·
Registered
4,109 Posts
Here is your problem. Wranglers are not cars and it sounds like you are looking for a car.

·
Registered
401 Posts
Regardless of anything else, the dude sounds too fishy for me to want to do any kind of business with. I say bail, there are plenty of other Wranglers out there.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
well regardless of what i want, i guess i was looking for a more constructive advice. so i guess wranglers are not equipped with power steering?

i'm being open minded to all this - i've never had a wrangler before and am very curious about it.

thanks work4mud, i was feeling the same.. just wanted to hear from someone else too.

·