Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,450 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here are my pics from the diff cover mod today.

I chose to use the Lube Locker gasket as I am a rookie at this.

Factory removed, oil drained, surface cleaned, ready to install. Anyone good enough to tell if I have 3.73 or 4.10 gears?

Factory cover vs. AEV cover side by side.

AEV cover with and without bolts and cover. Note the raised and thickened lip around the bottom half to protect the bolts and cover.

Lube Locker gasket set in place ready to go on the axle.

Installed, fill holes and inspection holes open.

All done multiple views.

Regards...

·
Registered
8,968 Posts
Came out nice. I only use Lubelockers. Sealant doesn't work for me. With the AEV it looks like you fill to the top hole for the rear?

·
Premium Member
2,450 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I used AEV torque setting of 22 then upped that a bit to 30. I am still a bit short of the 35 FP mentioned by Lube Locker but I don't want to mess these bolts. The lower hole is the fill hole for front the upper hole is the fill hole for the back. I used Royal Purple Synthetic 75-140 in the rear and will use Royal Purple 80-90 on the front when I get the part next week. Today I only did the back. Next week the front.

I will check for leaks this week.

·
Registered
174 Posts
I just swapped out my G2 cover to this AEV yesterday. Looks super nice and one heavy piece. Odd though, I only got in 1 3/4 quarts of RP 75w140 before it started coming out the appropriate measure opening. It says it’s supposed to be to Chrysler specs, but I thought that was like 2 1/4 quarts? Yes I was on level ground before you ask. Anyone else with this issue?

·
Super Moderator
22,449 Posts