Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
dirt road inspector
2,990 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In November 1977 I took delivery of a brand new CJ-7 I ordered from the factory. I ordered every option except the auto tranny and hardtop.

It was a Renegade with the 304 V8, factory air (I may have turned it on a dozen times over the years) and the Levi package (seats & top). I drove it every day for 15 years, about 175k miles. Then I covered it up and put it to sleep.

In about 2005 or so, I was making enough money to take the cover off and start bringing it back to life. Over the next three years, I did a frame off resto build. I said I because I picked all of what was done but a super Jeep mechanic, and ultimately a good friend did the wrenching. In the past, I had done minor work like headers, bolting on accessories and all routine maintenance but I am not a mechanic. My friend Rob did all of the work for more than a fair price. He helped me not make bad choices and guided me toward the good choices.

The results are a fantastic looking CJ with the best powertrain, good looking bodywork, and a head turner.

Then my job changed, not for the worse except I was gone a lot and had no time to drive and enjoy the Jeep. So, I covered it back up and put it back to sleep.

Now 10 years later I am ready to bring it back to life and enjoy it in my retirement years. I will be asking you guys for help on how to do that the right way. Right now, I'm going for a pizza and a cold beer.

Click on the link in my signature or look at the photos below.

Attachments

·
Registered
6,013 Posts
I love the cj7. Nice looking jeep.

·
dirt road inspector
2,990 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Ok
, first question.

How do I safely and legally dispose of 18 gallons of 10-year-old gasoline and old antifreeze?

I don't have a mower or any other such that I can mix it with new gas. It all has to go.