Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! Bare with me as this is my first post on the forum.

I have a 2DR 2013 JK that I've had for about 2 months. I'm going to be installing a Teraflex 2.5 lift with shocks and front lower flex arms this weekend but have a question about when I'm done. I'm going to get an alignment afterwards, but the alignment shop wants me to bring in the jeep with the stock tires, not my 35 inch rubber on AEV Pintler Beadlocks. Is this normal? To me it doesn't make sense, but I'm new to the Wrangler world.

Any advice or knowledge is appreciated!

·
Registered
224 Posts
I've always had mine aligned with the tires and wheels I'm using. Are they going to charge you for two alignments?

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
I would bring it somewhere that specifically does wheel alignments.. I would avoid Firestone, etc.

@Nickelboy yes, you will need an alignment after lift.

·
Registered
75 Posts
They probably want to know what it is before the lift with stock equipment, however you should get alingment specs from the lift company as they usually tell you "about what it should be". If you are lifting more than three inches I would think you would want to do the alignment becasue the castor could very well need correction (depending on the lift). You may however be limited in the amount fo correction and may have to get adjustable lower control arms if things are way out of whack. (probably unlikely with just a 2.5 inch lift).

So making a long story short it really should not be required to do two alignments. You should get the specs from the lift supplier and do it after you have the wheels and tires on.
Some folks don't do an alignment and go by "feel". I preferred to know what the numbers were.

·
Banned
3,288 Posts
Don't take it there.

Factory Specs are in their computers.