Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a bulge on my upper radiator hose, replaced it (bottom one is fine). Then a few days later I was leaking what I'm sure is radiator fluid but not from the hoses or the radiator. An old wise man said that is a sign my water pump is going out?! Dealership said there is no leak and did a "compression test". I'm not a mechanic.... Any ideas? Suggestions? 4.0 ltr 2000 tj
Thanks!

·
Knows a couple things...
49,370 Posts
Could be the water pump. Water pumps have a small weep hole on the front that leaks when the seal inside the pump starts going bad. If you buy a new water pump, buy the OE factory water pump. Stores like Autozone sell cheap Chinese-made water pumps that even though they include a so-called "lifetime warranty", they aren't worth installing unless you like installing replacement water pumps 2-3X more often.

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Jerry Bransford said:
Could be the water pump. Water pumps have a small weep hole on the front that leaks when the seal inside the pump starts going bad. If you buy a new water pump, buy the OE factory water pump. Stores like Autozone sell cheap Chinese-made water pumps that even though they include a so-called "lifetime warranty", they aren't worth installing unless you like installing replacement water pumps 2-3X more often.
Right on. How difficult? Not really a "mechanic" but smart enough to figure things out..... I think. Also I have an extended powertrain warranty, wait till it goes and have the dealership fix?
Thanks
:thumb:

·
Knows a couple things...
49,370 Posts
Not difficult but it's a bit of a PITA to do since it's not real easy to get to. I doubt the dealership will consider the water pump to be part of the drivetrain for warranty purposes.

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·