Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy all,

The purpose of this post is to provide a general, quality review of anti-theft GPS trackers and my device of choice, without getting too “techy”. Although there are some discussions on this topic I don’t see thorough write ups. I might have missed it though as I’m a total newb here. The info below may be useful if you’re considering applying a security feature to your rig or adding an additional or complimentary security measures. I hope this post assists you to make an informed decision and possibly helps the entire community by reducing theft.

After recently buying a rig (99 TJ) and reading through the excellent support for repairs and mods in this forum it occurs to me that our prized Wranglers are at incredible risk for theft. Since I live in a high-risk theft area and I keep my rig topless to enjoy the San Diego sun I began considering theft deterrent systems. First, I’ll describe my thought process for choosing the GPS tracker instead of other options. Second, I’ll provide some info on selecting a GPS tracker. I’ll review the tracker I deploy from purchase to install to application. Last, I’ll drop in some final suggestions and tips.

To avoid advertising for the GPS tracker I deploy, in my review below I’ll fall short of providing the exact manufacturer. If you’re interested in more specific information don’t hesitate to reach out by PM.

1. Security system selection:

Of course, there are many after-market security features available to provide some peace of mind or compliment security features you may have already. The steering wheel lock, clutch/brake lock, hood lock, hood latch lock, ignition kill switch, impact alarm, proximity alarm, etc., etc., etc. are all great features each with unique merits.