Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm suffering from the dreaded "no heat on the driver's side" with 2 inches of peanut butter-like sludge in the overflow tank.
:awesome:
After hours and hours of searching and reading I have decided to tackle the project of replacing my heater core myself. I'm out of warranty, and with all the add-on electronics, etc, going on through-out my instrument panel, I think it will just be easier if I do it myself. I'm a former automotive tech, so doing the work doesn't bother me at all. I have or have access to all the necessary equipment to reclaim, evacuate and recharge the AC system.

Basically, I am just wondering, is there anyone else out there as crazy as me who has tackled this at home?

·
Registered
1,615 Posts
A lot of labor involved, pretty much remove the whole interior from what I understand. With no warranty it would be expensive to have done. How far out of warranty are you?

·
Registered
1,228 Posts
First of all, that sucks.
Been down this road with the dealership and it's a serious PIA to get them to do it.
They simply don't want to because of the labor involved. They would rather sell you a new rig for 5K off than do a Pentastar heater core..

if you really have to do this on your own it might be a lot easier to fab up some sort of garden hose attachments on the inlet and out for some hardcore flushing and back flushing. At least before ripping your entire dash out.

Both heater core lines are visible when you pull the glove box out.

·
Registered
232 Posts