Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Will go on my first Jeep Jamboree in November with my first Jeep, 2013 Wrangler. Just took delivery at the end of Sept and will have little time to get off road before the Jamboree.

My specific question is to those who have experience with the 2012-2013 paddle -/+ automatic trans off-road. The Jeep OM, p440, recommends running the autos in D in mud, but doesn't address other terrain types. In the mid-90's I ran a Range Rover with auto and in mountainous terrain they recommended running in 3rd gear, allowing the trans to shift automatically between 1 and 3, but never above 3. As a rookie I always used 3 when in low range with great result in all terrain types.

So how do those with Wrangler autos use their transmissions? When, IF EVER, do you prefer selecting ERS (Electronic Range Select) to lock in a gear lower than D?

·
Banned
3,288 Posts
usually we'll use 1st and 2nd with steep up hill climbs or downhill descents.

thats about it. not for regular four low crawling. unless you got big tires and stock gearing.

·
Registered
493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
usually we'll use 1st and 2nd with steep up hill climbs or downhill descents.

thats about it. not for regular four low crawling. unless you got big tires and stock gearing.
Are you saying D not for four low crawling? I'm 100% stock.

·
Registered
493 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
One more try.

Didn't get the feed back I hoped for, so trying to move my thread back up the line for a last shot.

·
Registered
298 Posts
I put mine I D and enjoy the ride. I don't go fast enough to shift into higher gears, but like it for the rev limiting.

·
Registered
1,086 Posts