Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 153 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to jeeps (we are currently shopping around) and I see a lot of "hate" on people buying automatics. I know in the sports car world people say manuals are just more fun to drive (and thats definitely true) but why the hate in the Jeep community? Is it for the same reason? I myself don't care either way but my wife wants an automatic so she doesn't have to deal with shifting in Houston traffic

·
Registered
51 Posts
Not sure if that is "hate" in the Jeep community, or just people in general with superiority complex.

I learned to drive a stick in a Jeep Wrangler back in the day, however I drive an Automatic now... and I have no regrets. Drive what you want and don't let someone sway you a certain way just to make them rock hard for 30 seconds. They aren't driving it, you are.

·
Banned
477 Posts
Not sure if that is "hate" in the Jeep community, or just people in general with superiority complex.

I learned to drive a stick in a Jeep Wrangler back in the day, however I drive an Automatic now... and I have no regrets. Drive what you want and don't let someone sway you a certain way just to make them rock hard for 30 seconds. They aren't driving it, you are.
This is perfect advice.

There are going to be a bunch of douchebags coming into this thread to post about how "real men drive stick". It's BS. Automatics have come a long way. They are just as reliable, just as efficient, and just as fast now as their manual cousins.

I drive a manual bc I enjoy driving manual. As soon as I don't enjoy it I will buy an automatic. There's really no reason to not get an automatic anymore, it's just personal preference.

·
Registered
437 Posts
Wranglers are one of the last vehicles available in the US with a manual but even then the majority of JKs sold are Autos.

I don't know it's as much hate as I do see some manual owners giving auto owners a hard time in a joking, friendly way.