Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
490 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm curious, those with automatics, how many of you use your "manual" gear shift to help slow down your Jeep and how often.

I have found myself using the engine as a brake more often around town. This past weekend I used it a lot in the mountains.

Also, is this bad for the engine? Wouldn't think so but I'm no mechanic.

·
Registered
500 Posts
I'm not a mechanic either, but just doing this around down...Wouldn't that put more stress and wear on the engine and the tranny, rather than some cheaper brake components?

·
Registered
614 Posts
If you ever go to a performance driving school you will learn that brakes are the strongest, most effective and cheapest means to slow a vehicle.
Most people see in car video of race cars gearing down for corners, what they do not realize is that the braking is what is slowing the car down, and all they are doing with gearing is ensuring they have the revs up to balance the car through the corner and power out on exit.
Only people that use the engine to "brake" are big diesels with properly designed jake-brakes...

·
Registered
474 Posts
I drive one with a six speed manual, it slows down quicker in neutral going down hill than any other vehicle I've ever driven!

And yup.... Once my dad asked me why I don't down shift to slow down. I told him because brakes are cheaper and easier to replace than a clutch. His reply.... hmmm... never thought of it that way.

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
I'm not a mechanic either, but just doing this around down...Wouldn't that put more stress and wear on the engine and the tranny, rather than some cheaper brake components?
Manually shifting automatics are the new rage in vehicles these days. Probably keeps AAMCO-type companies purring. Manually downshifting can be useful in some situations but I'd rather not use it "often around town" unless maybe if it was a rental.

·
Registered
1,139 Posts