Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have a 2013 Wrangler Sport. I want to increase the range by adding an auxiliary fuel tank. This will be the first mod to the Critter. On another thread that I searched up the company Long Ranger was mentioned.

I'm new to Jeeps. Any comments or wisdom?,... about the auxiliary tank and this jeep in general?

·
Registered
166 Posts
There is a company that makes one out of aluminum that goes where exhaust is. So It would require modification of your factory exhaust. Genright.com has one. Expensive though but 20 gallons more.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'll look into gen Right's. I see there is a chip that will add a few more MPG. That sounds like an easy one.

I already have an email out to AEV. Hoping for a response.

If my calculations are correct, a total of 38.6 gallons with 20 mile per gallon rate, I should get a range of about 772 miles.

·
Registered
3,513 Posts
Chips don't add MPG. Don't waste your money on them.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I have emails out to AEV, Genright and Long Ranger.

Observations:

Genright: I looked at their online catalog and it "seems" that the tanks are replacements or for the 4 door only, not in addition to the existing tank. My jeep is a 2 door.

Long Ranger: I cant see a vendor here in the US, but hope that they can help out.

AEV: I have an email out them also. If some one can elaborate on their system that would be great. Is their system more of a storage platform in the bumper?

Questions;

I'm pretty handy with building houses and such but don't think I want to handle this install. Where and who in Texas is a good place to have this sort of mod done?

Is it possible that the tank I want has not been developed yet since we are still in 2013?

·
Registered
535 Posts