Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to participating in the forum. Using this COVID-19 lock down as an opportunity to do some much needed Jeep work. I'm tackling the most ambitious Jeep project I've ever tried. I'm converting my 1994 Wrangler YJ from the stock AX5 transmission to the more robust AX15.

Thought I would document the process here to share what I'm doing (parts, costs, challenges, etc) and hopefully learn from others experiences. I'm not a auto mechanic, so bear with me.

Current status: 1994 2.5L Jeep Wrangler. Previous owner installed oversize 33's, then sold it to me. The differential gearing is good for the 33's, so no problem there. BUT, those 33's destroyed the AX5 transmission very quickly! Lost 5th gear, then 2rd gear, so that drove me to the decision to make the conversion (No way I'm going to do this much work and keep that crappy AX5!!).

I know what I don't know, so that leaves me very uncomfortable. No question, I don't know everything that's needed, so I'm taking it slow. Wanted to get the transmission out and have the core ready, before ordering the replacement transmission.

That's where I am, just removed the transmission this morning. You can see in the photo.

Transmission Removal: NOTE: YouTube is your friend. This video is awesome, I just followed the steps. I did it by myself in a few hours. Couple bolts fought me pretty hard, but overall it was pretty straight forward and "relatively" easy. Only difference with my YJ, was I had to remove the muffler assembly, which added about 45-min, what a PIA.

So far so good, now I'm getting ready to spend some real money and can use some help/opinions before buying (If I didn't ask the right question, feel free to offer advise!):)

Major Decision: Transmission

I didn't want to do all this and reinstall a used non-rebuilt transmission, just too many things could go wrong. So looking at re-manufactured/rebuilt.