Jeep Wrangler Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, I was wondering what the front axle from the factory on a 2009 wrangler x would be. I know the rear (on mine) is a Dana 44. Next what is the default gear ratio size for both? Also, what do I need to know about upgrading both axles, gear ratios, and installing a locking differential. What would I need to buy for a job like this?
I'm still new to this sort of thing so plain english please. Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
53,758 Posts
jmgonzales said:
First, I was wondering what the front axle from the factory on a 2009 wrangler x would be. I know the rear (on mine) is a Dana 44. Next what is the default gear ratio size for both? Also, what do I need to know about upgrading both axles, gear ratios, and installing a locking differential. What would I need to buy for a job like this?
I'm still new to this sort of thing so plain english please. Thanks.
More info Jk or JKU?
Auto or manual?
Assuming you have 3.73 w/ the rear 44
front is a D30

Gear changes should only be done by an experienced shop and will cost you up near $2000 w/ lockers or more

Most importantly, what are your plans?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
More info Jk or JKU?
Auto or manual?
Assuming you have 3.73 w/ the rear 44
front is a D30

Gear changes should only be done by an experienced shop and will cost you up near $2000 w/ lockers or more

Most importantly, what are your plans?

3.8L JK, Manual transmission. I currently have 33" tires but may possibly go bigger. I live right by some steep, wet, muddy, snowy mountains that average 9500-11000 ft elevation and I live at 7000 ft.
Pretty much wondering what I need and where I can get it. I don't want to get ripped off by any shop looking to make some extra cash.

·
Super Moderator
53,758 Posts
jmgonzales said: