Jeep Wrangler Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone Im new to this forum and I'm new to the jeep world(btw its amazing:happyyes:) I recently got a 2001 Jeep Wrangler tj and I'm about to put some 35 AT tires on them and get it lifted 4 inches. I've read that my jeep needs to be regeared?? What does that mean? What does it do? And what are all the things I need to buy to do this? My next question is I want new axles on my jeep what do you guys recommend me to get for the front and rear?? It needs to be a good decent price and good for off-roading and also what does new axles do? Thanks guys for the help

·
Registered
2,348 Posts
re gear means lower ratio than stock to get the larger tires rolling. Example, most stock ratios for TJ was / is 3.07. With a 5 speed you should go to 4.88, the 3 speed auto should be 4.56. I am 4.10 and 35's and saving to re gear. anything less than 4.10 and you'll be in 3rd and 4th gear.
(this is with a 4.0 motor 4 cylinders need more gear)

There is a lot to do to run 33's and 35's many $'s. and for sure it is not bolt and go...

rear axle replacement if you have the Dana 35, brakes, steering, chrome moly shafts in the front are some of the mods off the top of my head.
4 inch is not enough "lift" for 35's. You will need either flat fenders or a 1 inch body lift. (I actually recommend both, but the body will set you up for the tummy tuck)
Oh yeah, you'll really need to consider a SYE and adj. control arms not a t case drop.

If you are in the Raleigh area I can't recommend East Coast Gear Supply in Briar Creek enough!

·
Registered
2,348 Posts
both axles have to be geared the same, if you plan on using 4 wheel drive.

·
Administrator
12,622 Posts